We at Annual Reviews have been thinking about how to help the many students, faculty and researchers that are working and studying remotely during the COVID-19 pandemic. To assist them, on Monday, March 16th we will temporarily remove access control to our content.
Cambridge University Press is offering free, online access to higher education textbooks and coronavirus research during the COVID-19 outbreak. In addition, existing customers are being offered free access to key reference works on request to help them overcome the disruption caused by the global response to the pandemic.
All 700 textbooks published and currently available in HTML format on Cambridge Core are available regardless of whether textbooks were previously purchased. Free access is available until the end of May 2020.
In addition, existing Cambridge Core customers can request free access to a collection of reference works for libraries during the same period, including all of the Cambridge Histories, Cambridge Companions, and Cambridge Elements. Existing customers should contact their regular library sales representative to make a request.
If your campus has been closed due to COVID-19, your students on US campuses get a free subscription to Cengage Unlimited through the remainder of the term, which gives them access to all Cengage ebooks and platforms. Please click here for more information on how to set that up.
Students, make sure you request the e-Book version, not the MindTap version of your desired text.
Enjoy our Digital Concert Hall for free for 30 days. Just copy & paste the code BERLINPHIL at https://digitalconcerthall.com/tickets.
The Philharmonie Berlin is closed until 19 April to help contain the coronavirus. But the orchestra will continue to play for you – in the Digital Concert Hall. The Berliner Philharmoniker invite you to visit their virtual concert hall free of charge.
EBSCO is offering a simplified version of Faculty Select that includes access to OER material as well as the option to discover more than 255,000 DRM-free EBSCO eBooks in one place, available at no charge for faculty to use through June 30, 2020.
No activation required. Immediate, seamless access is available to Faculty now.
To help your library manage the COVID-19 outbreak, EBSCO is partnering with publishers to offer free upgrades and discounted pricing for unlimited user (UU) access e-book models.
A growing number of publishers are automatically upgrading all 1 User, 3 User and Concurrent Access models to a UU model until June 30, 2020, at no cost.
Gale is offering complimentary access to Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy and Gale Interactive: Chemistry through June 15, 2020 to support Chemistry, Anatomy & Physiology and/or Health Sciences students during your campus’ transition to online learning.
Gale is also offering complimentary access to Testing & Education Reference Center (TERC) through June 15, 2020, made available through a partnership between Gale and Peterson’s. With online practice tests (i.e., NCLEX-RN, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, Praxis, EMT, Medical Assisting, and more), access to test prep eBooks, and resume & career building tools, TERC can keep your students on track with their professional or post-graduate plans during your physical campus’ closure.
Faculty please contact your Course Liaison to request activation of these resources.
To help lessen the pressure placed on libraries to support online instruction during the COVID-19 outbreak, EBSCO and Harvard Business Publishing have waived all costs for libraries to access the Harvard Business Review E-Book Subscription Collection until May 30, 2020.
Access is enabled for the JWU Community.
Free trial access until April 30, 2020 to the Infobase's most popular Academic resources that we hope will help your faculty and students at Johnson & Wales University (Main Campus HQ) during these difficult times.
JoVE publishes peer-reviewed scientific video protocols to accelerate biological, medical, chemical and physical research. Watch our scientific video articles. JoVE is happy to provide all of our Education video content free to use in STEM teaching efforts through June 15th. You can fill out the following form to request access.
JSTOR and our publishing partners are committed to serving the scholarly community during this challenging time in which researchers are unable to access print monograph collections. Together, we are making a collection of 30,000 ebooks freely available through June 30, 2020, for our academic and secondary school participants that do not license the ebooks through JSTOR.
Faculty, to request activation of this resource, please contact your Course Liaison.
Harvard University Press recently announced that it is making its subscription free to all schools and universities affected by COVID-19 until June 30, 2020. Librarians should email Loeb Classical Library Sales for more details. In addition, SCS members can access the library for free until June 30, 2020 via the For Members Only page of our website. Log on to Loeb Classical Library and access the For Members only page via our Membership menu.
The Metropolitan Opera announced that it would stream encore presentations from the award-winning Live in HD series of cinema transmissions on the company website for the duration of the closure. The new offering will begin on Monday, March 16 with the 2010 HD performance of Bizet’s Carmen. All “Nightly Met Opera Streams” will begin at 7:30pm and will remain available via the homepage of metopera.org for 20 hours. The homepage link will open the performance on the Met Opera on Demand streaming service. The performance will also be viewable on all Met Opera on Demand apps.
To support our library partners and the need for faculty and students to conduct remote learning, we are now offering complimentary access to MIT Press eBooks on MIT Press Direct (https://direct.mit.edu) through the end of May 2020.
To request access to this resource, please contact Brenda Keane
To address our unprecedented global and immediate need for access to reading and research materials, as of March 24, 2020, the Internet Archive will suspend waitlists for the 1.4 million (and growing) books in our lending library by creating a National Emergency Library to serve the nation’s displaced learners. This suspension will run through June 30, 2020, or the end of the US national emergency, whichever is later.
During the waitlist suspension, users will be able to borrow books from the National Emergency Library without joining a waitlist, ensuring that students will have access to assigned readings and library materials that the Internet Archive has digitized for the remainder of the US academic calendar, and that people who cannot physically access their local libraries because of closure or self-quarantine can continue to read and thrive during this time of crisis, keeping themselves and others safe.
Free 48 hour access to all performances available through their site.
The films featured on the website include international and US-based contemporary artists, some of whom are rarely seen live stateside, with works that might not be performed again. We work with our hand-picked film crew to capture live performances, edit collaboratively with the artists, and deliver the best possible video performance straight to you. All proceeds are shared with the artist, so each time you buy or rent a film, you put money directly in an artist’s pocket.
Wolters Kluwer is offering complimentary access to a selection of products for the next sixty days, complete with setup, support and training for users. These products have been specifically selected as they can help your faculty and students with the challenges of online learning. Faculty, to request access to any of these products, please contact your Course Liaison.
LWW Health Library
o Premium Basic Sciences
o Board Review Series
o Internal Medicine
o Physician Assistant (Core and Specialties/Rotations)
o Exercise Science
o Physical Therapy
o Occupational Therapy
o Premium Pharmacy
Bates Visual Guide
5 Minute Clinical Consult
At Oxford University Press, we understand the challenges of building an online course, even in the best of circumstances. Whether you are an adopter of an Oxford University Press text or not, we can help you. Below are a number of free resources that will help you and your students experience as little disruption as possible as you move to online teaching and learning.
Paris Musées, a collection of 14 museums in Paris have recently made high-res digital copies of 100,000 artworks freely available to the public on their collections website. Artists with works in the archive include Rembrandt, Monet, Picasso, Cézanne, and thousands of others.
Project MUSE is pleased to support its participating publishers in making scholarly content temporarily available for free on our platform. Among the almost 40 publishers currently opting to make content free on Project MUSE are Johns Hopkins University Press (all books and journals), Ohio State University Press (all books and journals), University of Nebraska Press (all books and journals), University of North Carolina Press (all books), Temple University Press (all books), and Vanderbilt University Press (selected books). We expect to announce additional participants and will continually update the list.
ProQuest has enabled access to three of their products for the JWU Community until July 15, 2020. Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637. ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.
ProQuest has partnered with more than 100 publishers to support libraries in providing unlimited access to Ebook Central holdings for all patrons – at no extra charge. ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 get unlimited access to all owned titles from these publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – have automatically converted to unlimited access for that period, The unlimited access also applies to additional titles purchased through mid-June. No action is required by librarians to switch on unlimited access – this will be done automatically, and the transition will be seamless for users. Participating Publishers
The 256 textbooks currently on ScienceDirect will be automatically entitled to all active ScienceDirect customers (including those journals customers who do not currently have books) for a period of 90 days. Users accessing ScienceDirect through IP or remote access will be able to use these books while campuses are closed. Updated March 18, 2020.
Johnson & Wales University is a ScienceDirect Customer. Patrons can either go through the Databases Quick Link on the library's homepage to ScienceDirect Journals (and search by title) to access these textbooks, or search by the title URL provided by ScienceDirect on their list.