Search the Library for...
Library Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A great place to start for most topicsMostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapersIf full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- The largest collection of nursing and allied health literature, including over 1,815 active full-text journals
- Features nursing instructional videos covering topics like NICU care, terminal illness care, and cultural awareness
- Includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules, and research instruments
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Access to the Cochrane Library of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Registry of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL),Cochrane Clinical AnswersIncludes MeSH and PICO search options
- DSM 5-TR Manual This link opens in a new window Provides access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR)Access to the DSM 5-TR Handbook of Differential DiagnosisDSM 5-TR Clinical CasesAccess to the Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM 5-TR
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
- In-depth country overviews with a focus on cultural, social, and business norms
- Includes country geo statistics, facts, maps, photos, and recipes
- Supports cultural competence development for international travel and assignment
- Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Nursing and medical journals, general interest health and fitness magazines, reference books and information
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window Medical encyclopedias, consumer health pamphlets, and other reference sourcesMany full-text articles from medical, nursing, and allied health journals
- Natural Medicines (Therapeutic Res. Ctr.) This link opens in a new window Evidence-based research on functional foods, supplements, alternative therapies and diets, and sports medicine
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Citations from the biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineeringLinks to full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website, PubMed Central (PMC), or accessible JWU library contentAsk a Librarian if you need assistance
- ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed journal articlesAny articles that are not available full text, select "Get Access" to request a free copy of the article - JWU email is REQUIREDRequests are processed usually within 24 hours, or the next business dayAsk a Librarian if you need assistance
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Sports and sports medicine research including nutrition, physical therapy, occupational health, exercise physiology and kinesiologyIn addition to journals and ebooks, the database includes references to thousands of dissertations and theses
- Statista This link opens in a new window Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and moreNOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appearExpert tools options are unavailable
Journals
- Rhode Island Medical JournalFree, open access journal
Books, eBooks & more!
- eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Non-fiction ebooks on a wide range of academic subjects; includes some major literary works
- Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Great for an in-depth look into your topicBorrow ebooks for up to 21 daysDownload chapters to any deviceLimited printing options
Public Health Policies on Psychoactive Substance Use by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789275123508Publication Date: 2021-05-14
Introduction to Public Health by Call Number: RA425 .S28 2017ISBN: 9781284089233Publication Date: 2016-03-08
Introduction to the US Food System by Call Number: RA601 .I58 2015ISBN: 9781118063385Publication Date: 2014-10-20
Nutrition in Public Health by Call Number: TX360.U6 S63 2007ISBN: 9780849314735Publication Date: 2007-05-11
Education and Public Health by Call Number: LB1587 .S65 2003ISBN: 9780871208262Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Sleep Disorders and Sleep Deprivation by Call Number: RC547 .S554 2006ISBN: 9780309101110Publication Date: 2006-10-13
- Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window Access to thousands of classic, educational, indie and documentary filmsClick on the LOG IN TO JWU link until you arrive at the Kanopy homepage or the Create Your Account screen. If you do not wish to create an account, select “SKIP” at the bottom of the page. You will be able to watch films without creating an account.To view films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) Collection, search "MEF" in the search box at the top of the homepage, then select MEF Collection from the results list
- Films on Demand Complete (Infobase) This link opens in a new window Acclaimed documentaries, award-winning education films, and helpful instructional videosCreate and share custom playlistsGoogle Translate in 53 languagesClosed-captioning and interactive transcripts
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
ILL requests are generally processed between 8am-4pm weekdays only. Evening or weekend requests will be filled as soon as possible the next business day.
Delivery times vary depending on the lending institution and journal availability. In the event that an article cannot be delivered, you will be contacted directly by the ILL librarian.
Tips for finding articles:
- Go to the library home page pvd.library.jwu.edu
- Copy and paste the article title into the "Everything" search box. Put the article title in quotes for best results.
- If that doesn't work, go back to the home page and choose the "Articles" tab
- Copy and paste the article title into the search box
- In either case, if you find just the abstract you should be able to request the item through ILL from the item record
- There are often freely available, open access to journal articles
- Copy and paste the article title or citation to search
- Google Scholar will also show JWU Full Text access options if available
ScienceDirect Articles
If you find an article using ScienceDirect but it's not immediately available in full text, click the "Request document" option to request a free copy of the article. Click HERE for detailed instructions.
Inter-Library Loan (ILL) General Overview:
- You can request articles that are not available at JWU library. You can not request entire journal issues, newspapers, videos, eBooks, or reference and reserve materials. Textbooks are generally not available to loan. JWU email is required when submitting Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests.
- COPYRIGHT LIMIT: 5 articles per journal - total, not per person
- Articles will be delivered to your JWU email
- Most requests are filled free of charge. If there will be a charge, you will be notified of the amount in advance, so you can decide whether or not you want to continue with the request.
- Books are renewed at the discretion of the lending library. Semester-term loans of ILL items is not possible. Requesting a course textbook through ILL will not allow you to have the book for the entire length of your class.
- Failure to return ILL items on time jeopardizes our ability to obtain future loans from lenders and your ability to place subsequent ILL requests.
How to submit Taylor & Francis article requests [Directions]
How to submit ScienceDirect article requests [Directions]
