Library Resources
Which library databases should you use?
My Recommendations:
To find the overall state of the Food & Beverage Industry use...
-
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- Industry research for over 700 U.S. industries, hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries", and some state-level industry research
- Updated reports: Global-wide industries and industries in China
- Industry reports include "Key Statistics," "Key Ratios," and supply-chain overviews
-
First Research (Mergent) This link opens in a new window
- In-depth U.S. and global-wide industry profiles (each report includes an overview of business challenges, trends, opportunities, and ratios)
- "State and Province Profiles" with a clickable map for monthly updates of local industry, economic, employment, and wage data for each of the 50 states and Canadian Provinces
To find the current market and trends for Food & Beverage offerings use ...
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articles
- Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles
- JWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
-
Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
-
RKMA This link opens in a new window
- Content updated every two years
- Reports cover fields such as Consumer Behavior & Marketing, Entertainment & Leisure, Pandemic Impact, Restaurant/Food & Beverage, Retail/E-commerce, Sports Marketing, Travel & Tourism, and U.S. Cities & Communities
- Use CTRL F to search PDF for key terms
How to Start a Search on a Library Database:
(Ex. Academic Search Complete database)
Step 1: Extract the main keywords/concepts from your research topic/question
Step 2: Input each of the words into the search lines. Click 'Search'!
-
Example Research Question: How do consumers respond to the presence of organic food?
-
Search Terms: Consumer Behavior (and) Organic Food
Bonus Step: Select search limiters (left side of screen)
-
"Limit To": Full Text (full access to the text is immediately available)
-
"Limit To": Scholarly/Peer Reviewed
-
"Source Type": (show more): Trade Publications; eBooks; Magazines; News; etc.
Too Many Results? Need a Subtopic to Explore?
Use the Database Thesaurus tool to narrow your search!
-
It provides a list of terms that relate to your main topic. Select a term to automatically be added to your search
Your search page will look similar to this! ....
Find demographic data from the US Census & American Community Survey
data.census.gov
The video below explains how to access demographic data for census tracts (just a few city blocks)!
Looking for real Consumer Reviews for your Company or Product?
Check out these sites:
Hi, everyone! I am so happy to be serving as your library liaison!!
Think of me as your research partner... I can assist you with finding articles, developing a research topic, citing sources... you name it!
If you ever want to meet with me for specialized research assistance, you can schedule a research appointment. We can meet virtually, chat over the phone, or email. I would be more than happy to help you!
Meika Matook | mmatook@jwu.edu| 401-598-5113
Looking for immediate research assistance? Chat or Text us!
JWU library has two style guides:
However, if you need more in depth guidance on formatting go to the Purdue OWL.
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- Schedule an appointment with a writing coach through uSucceed.
JWU Writing Support
Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing professionals are available to help you at any stage of the writing process.
Online Students: Visit the Online Writing Center to contact a writing coach
PVD Campus Students: Contact the Writing Lab to book an appointment with a writing coach
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1785
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: In jwulink, click Academics tab, Academic Support Services.
For 24/7 free online revision feedback, submit your paper to Smarthinking. Look for the link in jwuLink, under the Academics tab, under Academic Support Services.
