Library Resources
Hi, everyone! I am so happy to be serving as your library liaison :)
Think of me as your research partner... I can assist you with finding articles, developing a research topic, citing sources... you name it!
If you ever want to meet with me for research assistance, you can schedule a research appointment, or email me directly. I would be more than happy to help you!
Meika Matook | mmatook@jwu.edu| 401-598-1283
Is your source credible?
Assess it with a critical eye!
Use the ABCD Test to evaluate your sources.
(Questions in each A-B-C-D category are included as a guide. A few may or may not apply to your specific source)
A=Authority
- Does the author have credentials and/or valid experience related to the topic?
- Are the author's organizational affiliations given? If yes, are they appropriate?
- (Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source?)
- What are the author's qualifications to write about the topic?
- Is there contact information, such as a publisher or email address?
B=Bias/Balance
- Do they have a political, religious, ideological, cultural, or institutional agenda?
- Do they mention sponsorships or funding?
C=Currency
- When was the information published or posted? Has it been revised or updated?
- Is the information (or links) current or out of date for your topic?
D=Documentation
- Is the evidence cited or referenced in some way?
- Is there a list of sources?
- Are the sources listed current? Are they credible?
JWU library has two style guides:
However, if you need more in depth guidance on formatting go to the Purdue OWL.
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- Schedule an appointment with a writing coach through uSucceed.
Additional Resources: International Travel
-
U.S. Department of StateVisa, passport, travel information.
-
Doing Business from the World Bank192 countries ranked according to business topics.
-
World Factbook - CIAThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues.
-
International Monetary FundAn organization of 190 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
-
Cultural Competence for Public Managers
by
Our increasingly globalized society demands a higher level of sophistication when working cross-culturally and internationally in local, state, and federal governments; tribal corporations; and nonprofit organizations. Cultural Competence for Public Managers offers guidance on how to become a leader in developing cultural competence in your organization. It provides a conceptual foundation and successful examples for developing cultural competence, including competencies for international collaborations. The authors clearly define terms and provide their own cultural competence model that will add significantly to the current field. They describe the rapidly changing worldwide demographics that are bringing new cultures into many countries and societies. They also examine the issues that culturally diverse landscapes create in the United States, Asia, Europe, Africa, and Latin America, highlighting the differences between assimilationist and the multicultural viewpoints. Drawing on a wide range of examples from universities; local, state, and federal governments; health care service providers; and nonprofit organizations, the book illustrates management practices that are then extended into the relevant cultural context. It also includes examples of cultural missteps and cultural competencies that have worked in practice. Written in an accessible format and style, the book provides practical and useful standards and performance measures, proven coaching and mentoring guides, as well as templates, checklists, exercises, and guidelines. It includes a DVD with coaching guides, checklists. Organized thematically, the book defines the scope of cultural competencies, highlights best practices, and describes variations in responsibility for administering cultural competence for executives, managers, supervisors, and employees.
ISBN: 1439828083Publication Date: 2017-09-25
Videos
Research Project: Top 3 Databases to Use
-
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
- In-depth country overviews with a focus on cultural, social, and business norms
- Includes country geo statistics, facts, maps, photos, and recipes
- Supports cultural competence development for international travel and assignment
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articles
- Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles
- JWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
-
Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
