Library & Research Help
Library Activity
************************
Instructions (Find your group in the Google Doc):
Step 1: Select an article…
-
Find your group below and read the assigned research topic
-
Develop keywords to apply to a JWU Library Website search
-
Find one scholarly peer reviewed article. Paste the title & link
Step 2: Strategically read the article…
-
Identify a claim or research question (Hint: look in Abstract!)
-
Briefly describe topic’s background (Hint: look at intro/lit review)
-
Describe the Methodology: Identify who/what was studied & how
-
Identify main findings (Hint: Look in discussion/conclusion)
Greetings from JWU Library!
Use this guide as a starting point for your research. This Guide Provides:
- Recommended library databases
- Tips for article searches
- Techniques for effective reading / evaluation
- Citation format tools
For additional assistance, please reach out to the library. Top Services:
- Chat Service - Ask a Librarian
- Provides immediate online research help
- Research Appointment with a Librarian
- Schedule a virtual session to receive personalized research assistance
Don't hesitate to reach out! We're more than happy to help!
How to Read a Scholarly Research Article
Be strategic! Read the most important sections:
- Abstract
- Claim, argument, or research question
- Literature Review
- Methodology
- Findings
- Conclusion
Examples:
Which Library Database should you use to find Outside Sources?
Here are my Top Recommendations:
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
-
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- Support your point of view on a controversial issue with facts and statistics from primary and government documents, photos, magazine and newspaper articles which have already argued your case
- Explore opposing sides of the most important issues helps to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills
-
Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
-
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
- In-depth reports and analysis on hot topic issues in the news
Academic Search Complete database
How to Start a Search:
Step 1: Think about your research topic/question
Step 2: Extract the main keywords/concepts
Step 3: Input each of the words into the search lines. Click 'Search'!
- Example Research Question: How does social media affect mental health?
- Search Terms: Social Media (and) Mental Health
Bonus Step: Select search limiters (left side of screen)
- Full Text and Scholarly/Peer Reviewed
Watch the example below!
The Academic Success Center is open for in-person and remote appointments by zoom.
Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing tutors are kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. Visit the Academic Success Center website for more information.
Top Tips for Working with the Academic Success Center:
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: In jwulink, under Tools,.click Academics tab, Usucceed- Look for "My Success Network" Academic Success Network
- Visit us live on the first floor of the Yena Center
For 24/7 free online revision feedback, submit your paper to Smarthinking. Look for the link in jwuLink, under the Academics tab, under Academic Support Services.
JWU library has a style guide:
Need additional help? Check out these free resources:
- Scribbr Student's Guide to APA
- Excelsior Online Writing Lab
- Purdue OWL
- ZoteroBib: Citation Generator
- Citing an Interview: EasyBib
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- Schedule an appointment with a writing coach through uSucceed.
-
Food & Housing SupportFood insecurity refers to a lack of access to enough good, and healthy food. Housing instability encompasses a number of challenges, such as having trouble paying rent or finding affordable accommodations, overcrowding, moving frequently, or spending the bulk of household income on housing. Whatever your situation, please don't hesitate to seek out resources and support!
