Library Resources
Hey there! I'm Zaidee, your Business & Hospitality library liaision.
I'm here to help with all things research. I can assist you with developing a research topic, finding articles, citing sources, and more!
Don't hesitate to reach out with any questions. You can schedule a research appointment, or email me directly.
Zaidee Everett | zeverett@jwu.edu | 401-598-1466
Looking for immediate research assistance? Chat or Text a librarian!
Which databases can help you with your coursework?
(Trade, Popular, and Scholarly Resources & Country Overviews)
My Top Recommendations:
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
-
Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- National and global coverage of hospitality, tourism, food & beverage, event management, and culinary subjects
- Includes scholarly, trade, and news publications along with country and company reports
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articles
- Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles
- JWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
-
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
- In-depth country overviews with a focus on cultural, social, and business norms
- Includes country geo statistics, facts, maps, photos, and recipes
- Supports cultural competence development for international travel and assignment
Industry Research Databases...
(Industry Performances, SWOT, Market Reports, Statistics)
My Top Recommendations:
-
Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
-
First Research (Mergent) This link opens in a new window
- In-depth U.S. and global-wide industry profiles (each report includes an overview of business challenges, trends, opportunities, and ratios)
- "State and Province Profiles" with a clickable map for monthly updates of local industry, economic, employment, and wage data for each of the 50 states and Canadian Provinces
-
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
- Industry research for over 700 U.S. industries, hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries", and some state-level industry research
- Updated reports: Global-wide industries and industries in China
- Industry reports include "Key Statistics," "Key Ratios," and supply-chain overviews
-
RKMA This link opens in a new window
- Content updated every two years
- Reports cover fields such as Consumer Behavior & Marketing, Entertainment & Leisure, Pandemic Impact, Restaurant/Food & Beverage, Retail/E-commerce, Sports Marketing, Travel & Tourism, and U.S. Cities & Communities
- Use CTRL F to search PDF for key terms
How to Start a Search on the Library Website:
Step 1: Click the "Articles" tab on the main library website. Then click "Advanced Search"
Step 2: Input each of your search terms into the search lines. Click 'Search'!
Step 3: Use the Search Filters on the left side of the screen to customize your results.
Watch the Example Search Below!
Example Research Question: What leadership skills should athletic directors possess?
JWU library has two style guides:
However, if you need more in depth guidance on formatting go to the Purdue OWL.
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- Schedule an appointment with a writing coach through uSucceed.
Is your source credible?
Assess it with a critical eye!
Use the ABCD Test to evaluate your sources.
(Questions in each A-B-C-D category are included as a guide. A few may or may not apply to your specific source)
A=Authority
- Does the author have credentials and/or valid experience related to the topic?
- Are the author's organizational affiliations given? If yes, are they appropriate?
- (Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source?)
- What are the author's qualifications to write about the topic?
- Is there contact information, such as a publisher or email address?
B=Bias/Balance
- Do they have a political, religious, ideological, cultural, or institutional agenda?
- Do they mention sponsorships or funding?
C=Currency
- When was the information published or posted? Has it been revised or updated?
- Is the information (or links) current or out of date for your topic?
D=Documentation
- Is the evidence cited or referenced in some way?
- Is there a list of sources?
- Are the sources listed current? Are they credible?
JWU Writing Support
Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing professionals are available to help you at any stage of the writing process.
Online Students: Visit the Online Writing Center to contact a writing coach
PVD Campus Students: Contact the Writing Lab to book an appointment with a writing coach
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1785
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: In jwulink, click Academics tab, Academic Support Services.
For 24/7 free online revision feedback, submit your paper to Smarthinking. Look for the link in jwuLink, under the Academics tab, under Academic Support Services.
