What's on this Page?
This page helps you find:
Newspaper, magazine, and scholarly articles in the databases.
Books, eBooks, and DVDs available through JWU Libraries and other RI university libraries.
Featured eBook
Browse tens of thousands more online books at ABC-CLIO eBooks and eBrary!
Featured DVDs @ the Harborside Library
McLibel (2005) by Call Number: KD 373 .M42 M35 2005
Sweet Misery: A Poisoned World by Call Number: QP 801 .A84 S94 2005
We Become Silent by Call Number: RM 258.5 .A44x 2008http://www.welltv.com
View Videos @ Films on Demand
- Films on Demand Complete (Infobase)Over 15,000 streaming videos 24/7. Many areas of interest including business & economics, careers & job searching, computers & technology, criminal justice, culinary arts & nutrition, digital media, education, engineering, English, fashion/textiles & merchandising, food prep & safety, food science & service, guidance & counseling, health, science & social sciences. Watch Archival Films & Newsreels for important events and interviews with influential people in American culture & history.
Nearly 8,000 videos are available at Films on Demand! Find a variety of subjects, including business, career guidance, health, education, environmental science, and psychology.
Do a great search!
How to Use a Database
Learn some quick tips for searching databases from the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.
Help! How to Search for Articles in Ebsco Databases
More Help with Searching for Articles in the Ebsco Databases
Find Newspaper Articles
Search this full-text database for newspaper articles and broadcast transcripts from tv and radio.
News Items, Scholarly Articles, or Books?
Which types of sources will be most helpful for your research topic?
This video from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champlain explains how information is circulated.
Also take a look at a comparison of different types of magazines and journals here.
Stats on the Web
- OFFSTATSThis University of Aukland Library website provides links to statistical info from government sites around the world.
- U.S. Government Data & StatisticsFind government statistics easily by topic, agency, or location.
Pop Culture on the Web
- American Popular CultureFind lots of resources for critical analysis of pop culture at this Washington State University website.
- American Studies @ the University of VirginiaFind a huge list of pop culture links.
- Americana: The Institute for the Study of American Popular CultureRead articles from this non-profit's online magazine and find links to other pop culture sites.
- DMOZ Open Directory ProjectFind many pop culture links, both general and specific.
- Popular Culture and Entertainment MediaFind many links focusing on pop culture and various forms of media, most especially music.
News from Independent Media on the Web
- Independent Media CenterProvides news from variety of sources and links to media organizations throughout the world.
What are Databases and What Can They Do For Me?
Check out this video from North Carolina State University.
