Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Suggested Search Terms
The Downcity Library has guidebooks (Fodor's and Frommer's) for
select American cities, as well as titles concerned with the history of
These may be found in ranges 14 - 20 (E - F970).
- The sites below - sponsored by publishers and non-profits - rank/rate select cities as "the best" in their subject category
America's Top-Rated Cities
Profiles 100 cities/metropolitan areas with over 100,000 residents. Provides rankings/statistical data for over 30 topics dealing with business/living environment. All sources are cited. Great place to get a handle on the city/metro areas covered.
These LIBRARY-USE ONLY BOOKS contain ranking/comparative data on many American cities, towns and municipal areas.
America's Top-Rated Smaller Cities
Profiles 110 cities in 49 states with between 25,000 and 99,000 residents. Provides ranking/statistical data similar to "America's Top-Rated Cities" (see above). All sources are cited. Great resource for those cities which it covers.
Cities Ranked & Rated
"More than 400 metropolitan areas evaluated in the U.S. & Canada." Provides comparative information in 10 categories, including demographic, economic, "quality of life" issues. All data sources identified. Life-style-oriented. Great for comparative data for what it covers.
Comparative Guide to American Suburbs
"Covers over 2,400 suburban communities in the 50 largest metro areas - with rankings". Rankings in 25 categories for each metro area. Includes information for 36 states. All data sources identified. Great place for quick information on suburban areas.
Places Rated Almanac
Rates and ranks all 379 metropolitan areas for "liveability" for the following: "ambience," housing, jobs, crime, transportation, education, healthcare recreation, clilmate. All sources are cited. Also contains much practical advice.