Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online City Profiles
- The sites below provide a wide variety of information on America's communities, ranging from the largest cities to neighborhoods
- Includes information on demographics, the local economy, cultural attractions, commercal information for travelers/shoppers and more
This strictly commercial site links to guides for many
American cities. Searchable by city, neighborhood, state or zipcode. Very useful for visitor/shopping information for select cities.
Profiles for 20,000+ cities/towns. Includes information on socio/economic data, culture. education, transportation, crime rate, additional features. Also includes sections on colleges, careers
Directory of cities/towns of interest to travelers and shoppers. Links to sites for lodging, dining, recreation, attractions/events and more. Very useful for what it covers.
Provides "in-depth information about more than 46,000 communities around the country. Profiles may include up to 40 basic city/town facts on culture, government, demographics, transportation, attractions/events. Especially useful for smaller towns.
"Profiles for 179,000 cities, town, neighborhoods and subdivisions". "Maps, data and directions for 1.8 million physical, cultural and historic features". Very useful, especially for neighborhood information.
America's Top-Rated Cities
Profiles 100 cities/metropolitan areas with over 100,000 residents. Provides rankings/statistical data for over 30 topics dealing with business/living environment. All sources are cited. Great place to get a handle on the city/metro areas covered.
These LIBRARY-USE ONLY BOOKS contain profiles for many American cities, towns and metropolitan areas.
Provides contact and travel-related information for travelers to 254 U.S. and Canadian cities, including climate, transportation, accomodations, healthcare, media information. Also includes airlines, convention/visitors bureaus, hotel chains, "events". Very useful for quick information.
Cities Ranked & Rated
"More than 400 metropolitan areas evaluated in the U.S. & Canada." Provides comparative information in 10 categories, including demographic, economic, "quality of life" issues. All data sources identified. Life-style-oriented. Great for comparative data for what it covers.
Comparative Guide to American Suburbs
"Covers over 2,400 suburban communities in the 50 largest metro areas - with rankings". Rankings in 25 categories for each metro area. Includes information for 36 states. All data sources identified. Great place for quick information on suburban areas.
Moving & Relocation Directory
Provides profile/relocation information for 121 U.S. cities. Includes city government information, transportation, healthcare, media, educational institutions. Very useful for quick information.
Places Rated Almanac
Rates and ranks all 379 metropolitan areas for "liveability" for the following: "ambience," housing, jobs, crime, transportation, education, healthcare recreation, clilmate. All sources are cited. Also contains much practical advice.