Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Education Research/PRN: Find Dissertations

Find books, articles, dissertations, and other useful resources for your education research.

Welcome

PRN Orientation

Orientation agenda:

  1. JWU Library services and points of contact
    1. Research appointments w/ a Librarian
    2. Chat w/ a Librarian
  2. Access to library resources
    1. OCLC catalog "Everything" tab from the library homepage
    2. Databases A-Z list; use Subject drop-down menu to sort by "Education"
  3. Library tutorials and help documents
    1. Search strategies
    2. Citations and APA style
  4. Open sources on the web
    1. ERIC (FAQ) Why should I use descriptors in my search?
    2. Google Scholar (How do I Use Google Scholar to find Scholarly Articles for a Literature Review?)

 

Find Articles

Articles on the Internet

Google Scholar
This search engine locates scholarly literature including articles that are accessible online. (Include the phrases “full-text” or “view HTML” or “view PDF” in your search to help identify articles available full-text.)

Most Helpful Education Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Many full-text articles from over 8,600 journal titles covering topics in such areas as Animal & Veterinary Science, Area Studies (country info.), Arts, Biology, Chemistry, Education, Engineering, Ethnic & Multicultural Studies, Food Science & Technology, Humanities, Law, Literature, Psychology, Religion, Science, and more. Includes some full-text back to 1887.

Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Humanities & Social Sciences Coll. (ProQuest)

Over 1 million full-text dissertations published internationally since 1997 can be downloaded in PDF format including 24-page previews of dissertations and theses, where available. You can also check off "Full text documents only." Note: TO LIMIT YOUR SEARCH TO JWU's DISSERTATIONS: In the "School name/code" search box, either enter Johnson & Wales or select it from the "Look up schools" drop-down menu. Dissertations published from 1999 forward by Johnson & Wales University graduates of the doctoral Ed. D. program in Educational Leadership, are available online and can be downloaded by authorized JWU users.

Emerald Insight

Selective, full-text management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.

SAGE Journals Online

Full-text journal articles are ONLY AVAILABLE FROM 1999-TO THE CURRENT YEAR in such fields as Administration & Leadership, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice, Cultures, Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science, Hospitality, Information Science, Literature, Marketing, Sports, Travel & Tourism. FOR FULL-TEXT ARTICLES PUBLISHED FROM 1999 TO THE PRESENT: (1) Checkmark “SAGE Content Available to Me” and (2) Specify a DATE RANGE from 1999 through [current year].

Off-Campus?

What do I need to access these articles from off-campus?

Same credentials as your jwulink/e-mail

Using the ERIC Thesaurus

Watch more helpful videos about ERIC on the SearchEduResources's Channel.

Find Dissertations

Search for Dissertations 

Find More Dissertations

Find Videos

Over 15,000 streaming videos 24/7

Films on Demand Complete (Infobase)

Watch Archival Films & Newsreels for important events and interviews with influential people in American culture & history.

MEF Digital (Media Education Foundation) & Kanopy Streaming Videos

Streaming educational videos from MEF (Media Education Foundation). You can use the BROWSE SUBJECTS button for faster searching from a drop-down list. 

LinkedIn Learning

Log in with your JWU username & password to discover an online library of instructional videos on the latest software tools, business, and education skills.

More Resources

Data on the Web

Tests and Measurements

APA Style

APA Style - Citing and Document Formatting 

 

APA Style Guide - JWU Library

Scribbr - APA Citation Generator and Guide

APA Style Blog

 

Reference Management Tools

 

Reference Management Tools help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research. Two popular products that offer free accounts:

          

 

  • Store files and bibliographic records (citation info), and notes
  • Import sources directly from internet and databases
  • Create citations and bibliographies directly in Word and Google Docs
  • Sync data across devices
  • Collaborate and share with others 

Compare popular citation management software (RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero, WizFolio) from University of Toronto, UC - San Diego, and MIT.