Welcome
PRN Orientation
Orientation agenda:
- JWU Library services and points of contact
- Research appointments w/ a Librarian
- Chat w/ a Librarian
- Access to library resources
- OCLC catalog "Everything" tab from the library homepage
- Databases A-Z list; use Subject drop-down menu to sort by "Education"
- Library tutorials and help documents
- Open sources on the web
Find Articles
Articles on the Internet
Most Helpful Education Databases
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Many full-text articles from over 8,600 journal titles covering topics in such areas as Animal & Veterinary Science, Area Studies (country info.), Arts, Biology, Chemistry, Education, Engineering, Ethnic & Multicultural Studies, Food Science & Technology, Humanities, Law, Literature, Psychology, Religion, Science, and more. Includes some full-text back to 1887.
Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Humanities & Social Sciences Coll. (ProQuest)
Over 1 million full-text dissertations published internationally since 1997 can be downloaded in PDF format including 24-page previews of dissertations and theses, where available. You can also check off "Full text documents only." Note: TO LIMIT YOUR SEARCH TO JWU's DISSERTATIONS: In the "School name/code" search box, either enter Johnson & Wales or select it from the "Look up schools" drop-down menu. Dissertations published from 1999 forward by Johnson & Wales University graduates of the doctoral Ed. D. program in Educational Leadership, are available online and can be downloaded by authorized JWU users.
Selective, full-text management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
Full-text journal articles are ONLY AVAILABLE FROM 1999-TO THE CURRENT YEAR in such fields as Administration & Leadership, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice, Cultures, Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science, Hospitality, Information Science, Literature, Marketing, Sports, Travel & Tourism. FOR FULL-TEXT ARTICLES PUBLISHED FROM 1999 TO THE PRESENT: (1) Checkmark “SAGE Content Available to Me” and (2) Specify a DATE RANGE from 1999 through [current year].
Off-Campus?
What do I need to access these articles from off-campus?
Same credentials as your jwulink/e-mail
Using the ERIC Thesaurus
Watch more helpful videos about ERIC on the SearchEduResources's Channel.
Find Dissertations
- Proquest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
- List of Social Sciences Subject Categories - Proquest Dissertations & Theses Database
Tip: Identify the subject categories related to your research topic. Use these in your Proquest database searching.
- ScholarsArchive@JWU This link opens in a new window
Find More Dissertations
- DART - EuropeThis portal offers access to theses from over 300 universities from all over Europe.
- Education: Free Dissertations/ThesesThis Library of Congress site offers a list of online resources.
- Open Access Thesis and DissertationOATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.
- Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)Search for repositories from organizations around the world. Find not only e-Theses, but also other types of documents including e-journals, learning and teaching objects, and databases.
Find Videos
Over 15,000 streaming videos 24/7
Films on Demand Complete (Infobase)
Watch Archival Films & Newsreels for important events and interviews with influential people in American culture & history.
MEF Digital (Media Education Foundation) & Kanopy Streaming Videos
Streaming educational videos from MEF (Media Education Foundation). You can use the BROWSE SUBJECTS button for faster searching from a drop-down list.
Log in with your JWU username & password to discover an online library of instructional videos on the latest software tools, business, and education skills.
More Resources
Data on the Web
- IPEDS Data CenterIPEDS (Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System) is the "National Center for Education Statistics’ (NCES) core postsecondary education data collection program. Information is collected annually from all providers of postsecondary education in fundamental areas such as enrollments, program completion and graduation rates, institutional costs, student financial aid, and human resources."
- Chronicle of Higher Education: Facts and FiguresFind a range of free data, including financial, administrative, faculty, and student info, published by the Chronicle of Higher Education.
- Association for Institutional ResearchUnsure where to find the data that you need? Check out this huge list of links to resources in a range of educational areas, including higher education, quality, teaching/research, and technology in higher education.
Tests and Measurements
- Buros Center for TestingBuros is the publisher of The Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY), Tests in Print (TIP), and Test Reviews Online. Find some info on using and selecting tests in its "Instructional Resources".
- Educational Testing Service (ETS)Learn about the tests that ETS develops and administers for all levels of education, including ESL. Includes ETS research reports on various assessment topics.
- Ericae.net Clearinghouse on Assessment & EvaluationFind info and resources for educational assessment, evaluation, and research methodology.
APA Style
Scribbr - APA Citation Generator and Guide
Reference Management Tools help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research. Two popular products that offer free accounts:
- Store files and bibliographic records (citation info), and notes
- Import sources directly from internet and databases
- Create citations and bibliographies directly in Word and Google Docs
- Sync data across devices
- Collaborate and share with others
Compare popular citation management software (RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero, WizFolio) from University of Toronto, UC - San Diego, and MIT.
