Recommended Books
Green: Your Place in the New Energy RevolutionCall Number: HC 110 .E5 H625 2008Available at Downcity Library, Yena Center.
Off the Grid Homes: Case Studies for Sustainable LivingCall Number: NA 7117.3 .R95 2007Available at Downcity Library, Yena Center.
Renewable Energy HandbookCall Number: TJ 808.3 .K44 2005Available at Downcity Library, Yena Center.
Simple Prosperity: Finding Real Wealth in a Sustainable LifestyleCall Number: HN 90 .M6 W36 2008Available in Downcity Library, Yena Center.
Articles & Databases
- Business & Company Resource CenterProvides full-text articles on leading a sustainable lifestyle.
The resources below will assist you in researching ways to conserve energy and "live green".
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
- General Business File ASAP (Gale)Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
- GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) (Gale)Many full-text articles plus streaming videos on important aspects of environmental issues: economic, political, legal, and the human impact on the environment.
- LexisNexisFull-text articles on "living green" and energy conservation resources from over 6,000 newspapers/magazines, national and international. Updated daily. Best source for up-to-date business news. Also includes company profiles.
Common Leaks at Home
Other Useful Resources
- Buildings Energy Data BookFrom the U.S. Dept. of Energy, Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy. Provides statistics on energy use/consumption for residential/commercial/federal sectors; also statistics on energy law/codes/standards. Projected use to 2030 is included for some sectors. Best official source for data on energy use for buildings.
Links to sites for other useful information on what consumers can do to practice energy conservation and a sustainable lifestyle.
- Energy SaversFrom the Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, Dept. of Energy. Tips on saving energy in your home, workplace and vehicle. Also provides information on rebates, tax credits and financing. Very user-friendly.
- Green Energy NewsPublishes news on "green energy" from 1996 to the present. Much of the content may be useful to consumers interested in energy conservation.
Videos on Energy & Consumers
- Films on Demand Complete (Infobase)Over 15,000 streaming videos 24/7. Many areas of interest including business & economics, careers & job searching, computers & technology, criminal justice, culinary arts & nutrition, digital media, education, engineering, English, fashion/textiles & merchandising, food prep & safety, food science & service, guidance & counseling, health, science & social sciences. Watch Archival Films & Newsreels for important events and interviews with influential people in American culture & history.
These Films on Demand videos touch on various aspects of consumers and energy use . To access them, type the titles below in the searchbox in the upper right hand corner.
- "Air Sealing and Insulating: Residential Energy Efficiency Projects"
- "Conducting a Home Energy Audit: Residential Energy Efficiency"Projects"
- "Curbing Electricity Use in Buildings"
- "Energy Efficiency in the Home"
- "Installing a Solar Electric System: Residential Energy Efficiency Projects"
- "Upgrading a Forced Air Furnace: Residential Energy Efficiency Projects"
Additional videos may be located using keyword searching.
