Recommended Books
Called to Account: Fourteen Financial Frauds That Shaped the American Accounting ProfessionCall Number: HF 5616 .U5 C575 2009Available at Downcity Library.
Computer-Aided Fraud Prevention: A Step-by-Step GuideCall Number: HV 8079 .F7 C62 2009Available at Downcity Library. Includes disc.
No One Would Listen: A True Financial ThrillerCall Number: HV 6697 .M37 2010Available at Downcity Library.
Articles & Databases
The resources below will assist you in researching auditing and related fields. You can obtain full-text articles which are constantly updated.
- Business Insights: GlobalProvides company profiles and full-text articles on thousands of companies, public and private. Also provides industry profiles.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
- Emerald Management 120Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
- General Business File ASAP (Gale)Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
Other Useful Resources
- Auditing Dictionary of TermsFrom Accounting Institute Seminars.
- Forensic Accounting DemystifiedShort, useful guide to the forensic accounting profession.
- Kaplan's AuditNet Resource List (KARL)Created and maintained by Jim Kaplan. Links to several hundred sites for professional associations/organizations, government resources, "best practices" sites, and more. Browsable by name (alpha order) or subject. International in scope. Outstanding; a great site for novices and experienced researchers alike.
- Sarbanes-Oxley Audit Resource Center (SARC)This sub-page of Kaplan's AuditNet Resource List (KARL) offers a variety of resources on the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002. Includes updated laws/regulations, news, articles, web resources and more.
