American Law

Many full-text articles from over 8,600 journal titles covering topics in such areas as Animal & Veterinary Science, Area Studies (country info.), Arts, Biology, Chemistry, Education, Engineering, Ethnic & Multicultural Studies, Food Science & Technology, Humanities, Law, Literature, Psychology, Religion, Science, and more. Includes some full-text back to 1887.

Over 70,000 ebooks including Area Studies (country info.), Business & Economics, Computers & IT, Education, Humanities, Language, Law, Literature, Life Sciences, Nursing & Allied Health, Philosophy, Physical Sciences, Psychology & Sociology, and Religion.

Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.

Over 15,000 streaming videos 24/7. Many areas of interest including business & economics, careers & job searching, computers & technology, criminal justice, culinary arts & nutrition, digital media, education, engineering, English, fashion/textiles & merchandising, food prep & safety, food science & service, guidance & counseling, health, science & social sciences. Watch Archival Films & Newsreels for important events and interviews with influential people in American culture & history.

Support your point of view on a controversial issue with facts and statistics from primary and government documents, photos, and magazine & newspaper articles which have already argued your case.

Full-text journal articles are ONLY AVAILABLE FROM 1999-TO THE CURRENT YEAR in such fields as Administration & Leadership, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice, Cultures, Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science, Hospitality, Information Science, Literature, Marketing, Sports, Travel & Tourism. FOR FULL-TEXT ARTICLES PUBLISHED FROM 1999 TO THE PRESENT: (1) Checkmark “SAGE Content Available to Me” and (2) Specify a DATE RANGE from 1999 through [current year].

From the Library of Congress's American Memory Project. Links to documents/debates pertinent to the development of America's legal/legislative system from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention through the establishment of the Congressional Record (1873-75). Excellent collection of primary source documents.

From the Wisconsin State Law Library. Links to Resources for several hundred legal topics for business law, civil law, civil liberties, criminal law, family law, medical law and much more. Each topic highlights Wisconsin law (where applicable); may also include links to federal agencies, professional organizations directories. Short annotations accompany many links. Focus is overwhelmingly on U.S. law. Excellent resource for locating law by topic; very user-friendly.

"Provides a comprehensive, uniform and useful compilations of links to freely accessible on-line sources of law for the United States and Canada". Also links to legal resources for Mexico. This is a well-structured discussion of the U.S and Canadian legal systems at the federal, state and provincial levels, written in language that the layperson can comprehend. Excellent place for beginning research.

Sponsored by the University of Michigan Law School. "Collects documents and information from civil rights cases in specific case categories in the United States". "Available to scholars, teachers, students, policy-makers, advocates and the public to allow greater understanding of civil rights litigation in this country". Provides analysis commentary on over 5,600 completed or pending cases in 22 categories of civil rights. Information on each case includes case details, documents, issues'causes of action, related cases (if any). Outstanding; great background on "very consequential issues" of "historical importance" in American law.

From the Cornell University Law School Legal Information Institute (LII). Links to the Federal Constitution/Statutes/Codes, Bills/Hearings/Reports from the U.S. Senate and House, State Statues by Topic.

From the Law Library of Congress. Links to law-related sites for the Constitution, executive/judicial/legislative branches of the federal governmentt and to state government legal sites. Section on the Constitution is excellent, containing information on court decisions, historical background and analysis/commentary; also especially useful for links to the federal judiciary. Also links to international law/law of nations. Outstanding; easy to navigate and a great place for an overview and place to begin research.

From the Digital Librarian. Directory of several hundred links on law. Most sites deal with various aspects of American law, including the Supreme Court, federal and state law. Also a great source for law by topics; American Indian law, copyright/fair use, criminal law, the historical development of American law, journals and more. Great source for quick reference and browsing.

From the University of Colorado Libraries at Boulder. Links to Supreme Court and federal court sites; also links to decisions. Like all UCB Libraries' guides to government information (GovInfo), this is a great place for overview of "the basics"