LibGuides: Embedded Resources: SNC: ENG 1024 (Fall 2023)

ENG 1024 (Fall 2024)

Welcome. I am so happy to serve as your library liaison!

Think of me as your research partner...I can assist you with finding articles, developing a research topic, citing sources... you name it! Visit our homepage to learn more.

If you ever want to meet with me for specialized research assistance, you can schedule a research appointment.

JWU librarians are available for research appointments in-person, over the phone, and online. We would be more than happy to help you!

Looking for immediate research assistance? Chat or Text us!

Scenario: You have to write a short paper for a media communications class on the topic of media representation of historically marginalized identities

Using the criteria on your Google Doc, work with your team to score the source you are assigned.

Is your source credible?

To begin, let's watch a video to learn how to determine if a source is scholarly to begin.

Which library databases should you use?

My recommendations:

Academic Search Complete
- Provides full-text, scholarly articles for a range of disciplinary subjects.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (GALE)
- Provides a variety of sources that focus on dynamic, controversial topics.
CQ Researcher Online (SAGE)
- Provides in-depth coverage of important issues such as social trends, the economy, health, etc.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences XI Collection
- Provides a multitude of full text, scholarly articles that cover a range of academic subjects.

The Academic Success Center is open for in-person and remote appointments by zoom.

Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing tutors are kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. Visit the Academic Success Center website for more information.

Top Tips for Working with the Academic Success Center:

Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485
Book an appointment online via USucceed: In jwulink, under Tools,.click Academics tab, Usucceed- Look for "My Success Network" Academic Success Network.
Visit us live on the first floor of the Yena Center

For 24/7 free online revision feedback, submit your paper to Smarthinking. Look for the link in jwuLink, under the Academics tab, under Academic Support Services.

How to Start a Search:

Step 1: Think about your research topic/question

Step 2: Extract the main keywords/concepts

Step 3: Input each of the words into the search lines. Click 'Search'!

Example Research Question: How does social media affect mental health?
Search Terms: Social Media (and) Mental Health

Bonus Step: Select search limiters (left side of screen)

Full Text
Scholarly/Peer Reviewed

Your search page will look similar to this! ....

MLA Basics

In-text Citations: (Author's last name and the page number). Period after the in-text citation.
- Example: “There is a significant relationship between auditors’ assessments of the relevance and reliability of reported information and their attitudes to creative accounting” (Ionescu 161).
- Need more help? Click here!
General paper format:
- Times New Roman
- 1-inch margins
- double spaced
- indent each new paragraph
- Need more help? Click here!
Works Cited page:
- last page
- double spaced
- citations listed in alphabetical order
- hanging indents
- appropriate citation format for each source type (i.e. book vs. article)
- Need more help? Click here!
How to Cite an Interview!