Search the Library for...
Videos
- Films on Demand Complete (Infobase) This link opens in a new window Acclaimed documentaries, award-winning education films, and helpful instructional videosCreate and share custom playlistsGoogle Translate in 53 languagesClosed-captioning and interactive transcripts
Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A great place to start for most topicsMostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapersIf full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- Health and Life Sciences Journals Collection (ScienceDirect / Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed journal articlesIf full-text is not available, select "Get Access" to order a free copy of the articleRequests are processed usually within 24 hours, or the next business day
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Background reference information to start your research
Ebooks
Counting Moles by
Students studying chemistry often struggle with the mole. Counting Moles provides an effective aid to learning by giving clear and confident presentation of the essentials of the mole concept needed by those starting chemistry courses. This user-friendly
ISBN: 1681081016Publication Date: 2016
Virus As Populations by
Virus as Populations: Composition, Complexity, Dynamics, and Biological Implications explains fundamental concepts that arise from regarding viruses as complex populations when replicating in infected hosts. Fundamental phenomena in virus behavior, such as adaptation to changing environments, capacity to produce disease, probability to be transmitted or response to treatment, depend on virus population numbers and in the variations of such population numbers. Concepts such as quasispecies dynamics, mutations rates, viral fitness, the effect of bottleneck events, population numbers in virus transmission and disease emergence, new antiviral strategies such as lethal mutagenesis, and extensions of population heterogeneity to nonviral systems are included. These main concepts of the book are framed in recent observations on general virus diversity derived from metagenomic studies, and current views on the origin of viruses and the role of viruses in the evolution of the biosphere. Features current views on the key steps in the origin of life and origins of viruses Includes examples relating ancestral features of viruses with their current adaptive capacity Explains complex phenomena in an organized and coherent fashion that is easy to comprehend and enjoyable to read Considers quasispecies as a framework to understand virus adaptability and disease processes
ISBN: 9780128009949Publication Date: 2015
- eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Non-fiction ebooks on a wide range of academic subjects; includes some major literary works
- Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Great for an in-depth look into your topicBorrow ebooks for up to 21 daysDownload chapters to any deviceLimited printing options
