Films on Demand Complete (Infobase)Over 15,000 streaming videos 24/7. Many areas of interest including business & economics, careers & job searching, computers & technology, criminal justice, culinary arts & nutrition, digital media, education, engineering, English, fashion/textiles & merchandising, food prep & safety, food science & service, guidance & counseling, health, science & social sciences. Watch Archival Films & Newsreels for important events and interviews with influential people in American culture & history.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Many full-text articles from over 8,600 journal titles covering topics in such areas as Animal & Veterinary Science, Area Studies (country info.), Arts, Biology, Chemistry, Education, Engineering, Ethnic & Multicultural Studies, Food Science & Technology, Humanities, Law, Literature, Psychology, Religion, Science, and more. Includes some full-text back to 1887.
Credo ReferenceOver 500 reference books online including biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and quotations in many subject areas: Art, Business, Food & Beverage, General Reference, Geography, History, Language, Law, Literature, Medicine/Health, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Science, Social Sciences, and Technology. See the â€œTools" tab for using their image library, looking up quotations or a country's holidays & festivals. NOTE: To look for a specific ebook title in the collection, use the "Find a Book Tab" and the "Title contains" searchbox.
Virus As Populations by Esteban DomingoVirus as Populations: Composition, Complexity, Dynamics, and Biological Implications explains fundamental concepts that arise from regarding viruses as complex populations when replicating in infected hosts. Fundamental phenomena in virus behavior, such as adaptation to changing environments, capacity to produce disease, probability to be transmitted or response to treatment, depend on virus population numbers and in the variations of such population numbers. Concepts such as quasispecies dynamics, mutations rates, viral fitness, the effect of bottleneck events, population numbers in virus transmission and disease emergence, new antiviral strategies such as lethal mutagenesis, and extensions of population heterogeneity to nonviral systems are included. These main concepts of the book are framed in recent observations on general virus diversity derived from metagenomic studies, and current views on the origin of viruses and the role of viruses in the evolution of the biosphere. Features current views on the key steps in the origin of life and origins of viruses Includes examples relating ancestral features of viruses with their current adaptive capacity Explains complex phenomena in an organized and coherent fashion that is easy to comprehend and enjoyable to read Considers quasispecies as a framework to understand virus adaptability and disease processes
Publication Date: 2015
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO)Ebooks on general reference and subject-specific disciplines including biographies, business & economics, computer science, education, engineering & technology, health & medicine, history, law, literature & criticism, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and more.
Ebook Central (ProQuest)Formerly, the Ebrary database. IMPORTANT ACCESS NOTE: From ON and OFF campus, you will be brought to the "Sign into your JWU email" page to log onto the University's network. Access over 140,000 ebook tiles covering the Arts, Education, Health & Medicine, History, Law, Literature & Language, Philosophy & Religion, Science & Technology, and Social Sciences. Check out ebooks online for up to 21 days, save books to your bookshelf so you can highlight text and take notes in your online copy, print out pages (the number of pages you are permitted to print will vary with each publisher), and download chapters to your laptop and other mobile devices.
Effective 3/21/20: Due to COVID-19, on-campus services are suspended until further notice. The library staff can be reached via email or Ask a Librarian online chat service. See pvd.library.jwu.edu for hours in information.