LibGuides: Food Service Management LTI: Essentials

How to:

Start a Search on the library website:

Library Journals

A Sample of Full-text Library Journals:

How to Find & Search in a specific journal:

Databases: Scholarly & Trade Publications

To find Scholarly & Trade articles, use:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A great place to start for most topicsMostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapersIf full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
ACCESS URL: https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window National and global coverage of hospitality, tourism, food & beverage, event management, and culinary subjectsIncludes scholarly, trade, and news publications along with country and company reports
ACCESS URL: https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=hjh
Food Science Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Access to vital information from industry-leading sources covering all aspects of food science, nutrition and related areasFull text articles with images, tables, charts and other graphical content from many key journalsBenchmarks and best practices, providing examples of food science-related practices and developments from a world-wide range of industry players
ACCESS URL: https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=fsr
Culinary Arts (Gale) This link opens in a new window Selective full-text articles from major cooking and nutrition magazinesIncludes recipes, restaurant reviews, industry trends and news
ACCESS URL: https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/prov43712?db=PPCA
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window For full-text articles and book chapters: SELECT "Only content I have access to" and look for the solid green, square iconThis site does not work with Internet Explorer
ACCESS URL: https://www-emerald-com.jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/insight
Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window In-depth country overviews with a focus on cultural, social, and business normsIncludes country geo statistics, facts, maps, photos, and recipesSupports cultural competence development for international travel and assignment

To find Market & Consumer Reports, Company & Industry Profiles, use:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articlesHarvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articlesJWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Industry research for over 700 U.S. industries, hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries", and some state-level industry researchUpdated reports: Global-wide industries and industries in ChinaIndustry reports include "Key Statistics," "Key Ratios," and supply-chain overviews
Statista This link opens in a new window Statstics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and moreNOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appearExpert tools options are unavailable
First Research (Mergent) This link opens in a new window In-depth U.S. and global-wide industry profiles (each report includes an overview of business challenges, trends, opportunities, and ratios)"State and Province Profiles" with a clickable map for monthly updates of local industry, economic, employment, and wage data for each of the 50 states and Canadian Provinces
RKMA This link opens in a new window Content updated every two yearsReports cover fields such as Consumer Behavior & Marketing, Entertainment & Leisure, Pandemic Impact, Restaurant/Food & Beverage, Retail/E-commerce, Sports Marketing, Travel & Tourism, and U.S. Cities & CommunitiesUse CTRL F to search PDF for key terms
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window Industry reports including demographics, market trends, forecasts, analysis of major brands, new products, and consumer trends and buyer behavior
MRI-Simmons This link opens in a new window MRI-Simmons Insights is Simmons Research’s web-based platform for analysis of national consumer and market insightsThere is a limit of 25 simultaneous users at the same time

Multimedia Databases

Films on Demand Complete (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
Search over 15,000 streaming videos 24/7.
ACCESS URL: https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlayLists.aspx?wid=99165
Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
Search documentaries and streaming videos using the Browse Subjects button.
ACCESS URL: https://jwu.kanopy.com
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Build your workplace and technology skills with an online library of 4000+ instructional videos taught by industry experts.