ALA and ACRL are committed to supporting our members, staff, and all librarians and library workers during these uncertain times. Now more than ever, academic and research librarians and libraries are essential to a thriving global community of learners and scholars. This resource guide was created by ACRL to support the academic and research library community during global public health crises. The guide features resources for distance education and engagement, free professional development resources, best practices, and up-to-date information from public health officials.
Peer-reviewed scholarly research and research libraries are trusted guides during times of scientific uncertainty. As the world navigates the COVID-19 pandemic, BioOne is proud to share the wealth of relevant content from our publishing partners to provide support for those working on solutions for this global crisis. In collaboration with the Association of Research Libraries, BioOne and our publishers have made articles related to coronavirus in the following journals available via open access through 2020.
The preprint server for biology. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been peer-reviewed. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information.
Cambridge University Press is providing free access to coronavirus research on Cambridge Core. More than 80 relevant book chapters and journal articles are currently in the collection, with future articles being added once they are published. We have also joined other publishers in signing a commitment to make the research available through PubMed Central and other public repositories of journal literature.
As the crisis deepens, The Chronicle is providing free access to our breaking-news updates. We invite you to explore our complete coverage of the coronavirus, including other tools and resources you might find useful.
As the global community continues to monitor the impact of COVID-19, many libraries may be facing closures or other reductions in service. Many of you have reached out to your peers or to OCLC. We are here to help. OCLC has created a list of possible actions for libraries to consider. Each library’s situation is different, so please take advantage of this information to create, enhance, or revise your local plan.
COVID-19 INFORMATION PORTAL
This Information Portal has been created to support the immediate need for trusted information. It is comprised of news feeds and resources from trusted bodies of authority and the index is in its infancy. This portal will continue to evolve over the days and weeks to come, along with our emerging needs as a professional community. The goal: to provide relevant and reliable information when, where, and how people need it.
Here you will find the latest early stage and peer-reviewed research from journals including The Lancet and Cell Press, as well as a link to the Coronavirus hub on ScienceDirect, where you will find every article relevant article to Coronavirus, SARS, and MERS freely available. Under the Clinical information tab you will find resources for nurses, clinicians and patients, including FAQs on symptoms and upcoming CDC webinars on what clinicians need to know to prepare for COVID-19 in the United States.
We have made research on COVID-19 and the management of epidemics and pandemics free for anyone to access and have also made this available with full text and data mining rights to PubMed Central and the World Health Organisation repository. We will continue to make relevant research freely available on this site.
Browse the JAMA Network COVID-19 collection below, including Q&A's with NIAID's Anthony Fauci, an interactive map of the outbreak courtesy of The Johns Hopkins Center for Systems Science and Engineering, and past publications on vaccine development, infection control, and public health preparedness.
As the American Library Association (ALA) continues to track the development of the coronavirus, racial fears and anxieties have become a dominant frame in which people evaluate concerns over the ongoing COVID-19 coronavirus infection. Additionally, the World Health Organization has described the secondary issue of an infodemic, which they define as “an overabundance of information — some accurate and some not — that makes it hard for people to find trustworthy sources and reliable guidance when they need it.” This page includes selected resources for learning the facts about Coronavirus and examples of how libraries are interrupting not only the spread of misinformation but also related racism and xenophobia.
The coronavirus (COVID-19) is having a growing impact on the global economy. GlobalData’s new executive briefing provides business leaders with trusted data and insights on key topic areas: The spread of COVID-19 and efforts to find a cure; Impact on top economies and markets around the globe; Estimated 2020 GDP growth and views of top economists; Government responses to the threat.
In addition, the briefing provides concise sector impact assessments on automotive, banking & payments, construction, consumer, foodservice, healthcare, insurance, medical, mining, oil & gas, packaging, pharma, power, retail, technology & telecom, and travel & tourism.
Fill out the form to download your free copy today.
The preprint server for health sciences. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been peer-reviewed. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information.
A collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary. All Journal content related to the Covid-19 pandemic is freely available.
Oxford University Press has made content from online resources and leading journals freely accessible to assist researchers, medical professionals, policy makers, and others who are working to address this potential health crisis.
On March 31, Proquest released Coronavirus Research Database and made it available at no charge for all ProQuest customers, including Johnson & Wales University.
ProQuest built this database in response to the rapidly growing need for authoritative content related to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). We’re working together with institutions all over the world to offer support as they navigate through the coronavirus pandemic, and this launch of the Coronavirus Research Database is the latest in a series of programs to help librarians, faculty and students.
Research related to coronavirus is freely available on SAGE Journals. A full list of the open articles includes research both in science, technology, and medicine and in the social and behavioral sciences. SAGE will continue to make new research available related to the virus as it is published.
As a publisher of trusted health science, we’ve made the relevant research articles, book chapters and entries in our major references freely available below, in support of the global efforts in diagnosis, treatment, prevention and further research in this disease and similar viral respiratory infections. In addition to the articles on this site related to the current outbreak, Wiley is also making a collection of journal articles and our book chapters on coronavirus research freely available to the global scientific community. On workdays, newly published articles are made free within 24 hours of publication. Articles published after 14:00 (EST) on Friday will be made free the following Monday.