Skip to Main Content

LGBTQIA+ Voices

Podcasts

   

  • Making Gay History: 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that brings the largely hidden history of the LGBTQ civil rights movement to life through the voices of the people who lived it.
  • Queer as Fact: run by four Melbourne-based queer people with a background in history and a passion for sharing queer stories.
  • History is Gay: monthly podcast that examines the overlooked and underappreciated queer ladies, gents, and gentle-enbies from the unexplored corners of history.
  • Queer Serial: Outlaw drag queens, FBI hunts, and not-so-secret societies. Raids, riots, and romance! A true history radio drama following American LGBTQ liberation from 1924 to Stonewall.

LGBTQIA+ Archives

  • LGBT Issues in Records at the National Archives: The National Archives’ (NARA) engages, educates, and inspires multiple audiences to discover and explore the records of the American people. Its collection documents the experience of the full range of our diverse society. Its records constitute a rich documentary history of the experience of LGBT individuals.
     
  • National Museum of American History: Our collections span centuries and include objects related to protest and politics, medicine and psychology, love and marriage, sports and entertainment, and more. Sometimes, curators and archivists collected objects for a specific reason that later turned out to have LGBTQ+ connections. 
     
  • Gerbert/Hart - History and Culture:  Founded in 1981, the collections focus on the culture and history of LGBTQ peoples and additional marginalized sexual and gender minorities in Chicago and the Midwest. Open to all, Gerber/Hart serves these communities by collecting, preserving, and making accessible collection items of individuals, organizations, and businesses, as well as publicly distributed items. 
     
  • ONE Archives Foundation: ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives at the USC Libraries is the largest repository of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer (LGBTQ) materials in the world.
     

  • Stonewall National Museum & Archives: Promotes understanding through collecting, preserving and sharing the proud culture of lesbian, gay, bisexual transgender and queer people of all stories, and their significant role in American society.