Search the Library for...
JWU Charlotte Library Homepage
Library Videos
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
- Enhance your skills in business, technology, and creativity with expert-led video tutorials
- Create custom playlists and assign to students or colleagues
- How to use LinkedIn Learning
- Films on Demand Complete (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
- Acclaimed documentaries, award-winning education films, and helpful instructional videos
- Create and share custom playlists
- Google Translate in 53 languages
- Closed-captioning and interactive transcripts
Top English Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- Background reference information to start your research
- CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
- In-depth reports and analysis on hot topic issues in the news
Popular Library Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articles
- Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles
- JWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
- Culinary Arts (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Selective full-text articles from major cooking and nutrition magazines
- Includes recipes, restaurant reviews, industry trends and news
- Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Medical encyclopedias, consumer health pamphlets, and other reference sources
- Many full-text articles from medical, nursing, and allied health journals
- Hospitality and Tourism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Covers cultural, historical, and economic aspects of the hospitality, tourism, and leisure industries, along with current affairs
- The "Topic Finder" tab provides support in selecting a research topic
- Ask a Librarian if you need assistance
Citations
Citations allow your readers to follow in your footsteps and retrace your findings. As such, citations include a couple different elements: in-text citations as well as the full citation at the end of the paper.
Annotated citations are the full citation that you would find at the end of the paper, along with a formal annotation, sharing important information about the resource to the reader, all with a specific format (even the annotation!)
We've got the tools to help. There is a brief intro below. For more, follow this link to the MLA Guide on the JWU Charlotte homepage.
https://clt.library.jwu.edu/mlaguide
An example of a whole book citation:
Quammen, David. The Tangled Tree: A Radical New History of Life. New York, Simon & Schuster, 2018.
An example of an academic journal article from a database:
Hilpert, Jonathan C., and Gwen C. Marchand. “Complex Systems Research in Educational Psychology: Aligning Theory and Method.” Educational Psychologist, vol. 53, no. 3, July 2018, pp. 185–202. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1080/00461520.2018.1469411.
EVERYTHING has a specific way of being cited, but there are many tools to help you.
Manage your research with zotero:
- Save articles
- Generate citations
- Organize collection
