Embedded Resources by Rebecca Gagne

Click Google Doc to get started.

Scenario: You have to write a short paper for a media communications class on the topic of increasing inclusive representation in the media.

Using the criteria on your Google Doc, work with your team to score the source you are assigned.

Is your source credible?

To begin, let's watch a video to learn how to determine if a source is scholarly to begin.

Which library databases should you use? 

My recommendations:

• Academic Search Complete 
  • Provides full-text, scholarly articles for a range of disciplinary subjects. 
• Opposing Viewpoints in Context (GALE) 
  • Provides a variety of sources that focus on dynamic, controversial topics.
• CQ Researcher Online (SAGE)
  • Provides in-depth coverage of important issues such as social trends, the economy, health, etc.  
• Statista
  • Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
  • NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
• JSTOR Arts & Sciences XI Collection 
  • Provides a multitude of full text, scholarly articles that cover a range of academic subjects.

MLA Basics

• In-text Citations: (Author's last name and the page number). Period after the in-text citation. 
  • Example: “There is a significant relationship between auditors’ assessments of the relevance and reliability of reported information and their attitudes to creative accounting” (Ionescu 161).
  • Need more help? Click here!
• General paper format:
  • Times New Roman
  • 1-inch margins 
  • double spaced 
  • indent each new paragraph
  • Need more help? Click here!
• Works Cited page:
  • last page
  • double spaced
  • citations listed in alphabetical order
  • hanging indents
  • appropriate citation format for each source type (i.e. book vs. article)
  • Need more help? Click here! 
• ​How to Cite an Interview!

The Academic Success Center is open for in-person and remote appointments by zoom.

Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing tutors are kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. Visit the Academic Success Center website for more information.

Top Tips for Working with the Academic Success Center:

1.    Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485  
2.    Visit us live on the first floor of the Yena Center

For 24/7 at no extra charge tutoring support and academic success coaching, log into JWULINK to use tutor.com and schedule a session.

Look for the link in jwuLink, type tutor.com in the search bar.  It will be the first link to come up! Log in to your account with your JWU credentials and then, it will auto-populate with your name and you're ready to go.

How to Start a Search: 

Step 1: Think about your research topic/question

Step 2: Extract the main keywords/concepts

Step 3: Input each of the words into the search lines. Click 'Search'!

• Example Research Question: How does social media affect mental health?
• Search Terms: Social Media (and) Mental Health 

Bonus Step: Select search limiters (left side of screen)

• Full Text
• Scholarly/Peer Reviewed

Your search page will look similar to this! .... 

The JWU library has your textbook available at both the Downcity and Harborside libraries free!

You can check out the print textbook for free for 2 hours at a time with your JWU reserve.

Check your syllabus to make sure you have the correct version.

Chat with a librarian if you have any questions.

First-Year Reads 2024: “This, I Believe” 

The Choice to Do It Over Again 

https://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=92676216 

The Power of Hello 

https://thisibelieve.org/essay/48202/ 

Black Is Beautiful 

https://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=93879707 

Our Lives Are Ephemeral 

https://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=97849881 

The Magic of Letters 

https://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=100677646 

Seeing Beyond Our Differences 

https://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=101155458 

America’s Beauty Is in Its Diversity 

https://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=99965179 

Life Is an Act of Literary Creation 

https://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=103362391 

Creating Our Own Happiness 

https://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=7572601 

Failure Is a Good Thing 

https://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=6196795 

A Journey Toward Acceptance and Love 

https://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=4865686 

*There is No Such Thing as Too Much Barbecue 

https://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=4827993 

*I Believe in Sharing Food 

https://radio.wpsu.org/post/i-believe-i-believe-sharing-food 

First-Year Reads Program: “This, I Believe” Contest 2024.

As you know, all first-year students are reading pieces from the National Public Radio’s famous “This, I Believe” series. These writings have inspired people across the world to share their stories and perspectives. In the fall semester, you will take part in this, as a way to share a common academic experience with your first-year classmates. 

Your fall semester English professor (ENG1020, ENG1021, ENG1024, or ENG1027) will also be including an assignment that will allow you to write your own “This, I Believe” piece. If you would like to enter the university-wide contest, please let your professor know, so your piece may be considered. There will be three winners chosen, and these essays will be highlighted during the JWU Homecoming & Family Weekend and shared with the JWU community in a variety ways. 

The essay should be approximately 500 words, following the spirit and general format of the “This, I Believe” series. This year, we will not have a specific theme but allow students to explore their own ideas.  

As with any essay, you will want to state your thesis clearly, which, in this case will be your “belief.”  You will want to support your essay with clear points that express your views and offer specific examples and observations from your life.  

The essay should be double-spaced in MLA format.  

Essays must be submitted (in digital form) to your ENG1020, 1021, 1024, or 1027 professor no later than Monday 9/16. A committee of English faculty will read the essays, and winners will be announced by late September.  

Here is a link some writing suggestions: 

https://thisibelieve.org/guidelines/ 

Be brave. Your words are more powerful than you know.