Library Resources
Welcome. I am so happy to serve as your library liaison!
Think of me as your research partner... I can assist you with finding articles, developing a research topic, citing sources... you name it! Visit our homepage to learn more.
If you ever want to meet with me for specialized research assistance, you can schedule a research appointment.
Rebecca Gagne | rgagne@jwu.edu | 401-598-5113
JWU librarians are available for research appointments in-person, over the phone, and online. We would be more than happy to help you!
Looking for immediate research assistance? Chat or Text us!
Instructions
Find Your Group Number on the Google Doc for then write the name of each person in your group!
- Break into groups and write your names next to your group number. Choose a presenter for your group.
- Explore the assigned databases and websites to collect information about your community partner.
- In each database, find at least one report, article, or statistic related to your community partner.
- Copy and paste the permalink or citation for an article you found that is relevant to your community partner
Which library databases should you use?
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
- In-depth country overviews with a focus on cultural, social, and business norms
- Includes country geo statistics, facts, maps, photos, and recipes
- Supports cultural competence development for international travel and assignment
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- Citations from the biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering
- Links to full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website, PubMed Central (PMC), or accessible JWU library content
- Ask a Librarian if you need assistance
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
How to Start a Search
Step 1: Think about your research topic/question
Step 2: Extract the main keywords/concepts
Step 3: Input each of the words into the search lines. Click 'Search'!
- Example Research Question: How does social media affect mental health?
- Search Terms: Social Media (and) Mental Health
Bonus Step: Select search limiters (left side of screen)
- Full Text
- Scholarly/Peer Reviewed
Your search page will look similar to the screen below
The American Medical Association (AMA) citation style is a variation of the Vancouver system that is often used in medical and scientific writing and publishing. It's also used by health professionals and when submitting papers to journals published by the AMA.
Citation Style:
Author Last name, First Initial/Middle Initial. Title in sentence case. Abbreviated Journal Title in Title Case. Year; volume(Issue#):PP-PP. doi: ##
Note: If you are citing an online article, you should include the day and month of publication as well in the format of Month Day, Year.
Use sentence case for all titles (capitalize only the first word of the title). Abbreviate and italicize names of journals according to the listing in the National Library of Medicine database.
If you need more in depth guidance on formatting visit the Purdue Owl: AMA Style Guide or Sheridan College Library Guide.
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- If you are an online student, you can go to the online writing center for information about how to contact a writing coach.
- If you are a PVD campus student you can schedule an appointment with the writing coach through uSucceed.
If you use the library's databases for your research, you can copy and paste pre-generated citations - look out for the option as it may appear differently in each interface but is generally represented by an icon of quotation marks.
If you need to cite a resource not located in a database, I recommend using the OWL as a reference. You can also reach out to me or JWU Library for help with citations!
The Academic Success Center is open for in-person and remote appointments by zoom.
Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing tutors are kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. Visit the Academic Success Center website for more information.
Top Tips for Working with the Academic Success Center:
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: In jwulink, under Tools,.click Academics tab, Usucceed- Look for "My Success Network" Academic Success Network or click here to make a writing tutor appointment.
- Visit us live on the first floor of the Yena Center
For 24/7 free online revision feedback, submit your paper to Smarthinking. Look for the link in jwuLink, under the Academics tab, under Academic Support Services.
