Library Resources
Welcome, we are so happy to serve as your library liaisons!
Think of us as your research partners...We can assist you with finding articles, developing a research topic, citing sources... you name it! Visit our homepage to learn more.
If you ever want to meet with us for specialized research assistance, you can schedule a research appointment.
JWU librarians are available for research appointments in-person, over the phone, and online. We would be more than happy to help you!
Looking for immediate research assistance? Chat or Text us!
The JWU library has your textbook,The Art of Public Speaking, available at both the Downcity and Harborside libraries free!
You can check out the print textbook for free for 2 hours at a time with your JWU reserve.
Check your syllabus to make sure you have the correct version.
Chat with a librarian if you have any questions.
Which library databases should you use?
My recommendations:
- Academic Search Complete
- Provides full-text, scholarly articles for a range of disciplinary subjects.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (GALE)
- Provides a variety of sources that focus on dynamic, controversial topics.
- CQ Researcher Online (SAGE)
- Provides in-depth coverage of important issues such as social trends, the economy, health, etc.
- Statista
- Provides a multitude of statistics, charts, and other data on controversial topics.
How to Start a Search:
Step 1: Think about your research topic/question
Step 2: Extract the main keywords/concepts
Step 3: Input each of the words into the search lines. Click 'Search'!
- Example Research Question: How does social media affect mental health?
- Search Terms: Social Media (and) Mental Health
Bonus Step: Select search limiters (left side of screen)
- Full Text
- Scholarly/Peer Reviewed
Your search page will look similar to this! (see image below)
The JWU library has two style guides:
However, if you need more in depth guidance on formatting visit the Purdue OWL.
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- If you are an online student, you can go to the online writing center for information about how to contact a writing tutor.
- If you are a PVD campus student you can schedule an appointment with a writing tutor through uSucceed.
The Academic Success Center is open for in-person and remote appointments by zoom!
Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing tutors are kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. Visit the Academic Success Center website for more information.
Top Tips for Working with the Academic Success Center:
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485
- Visit us live on the first floor of the Yena Center
For 24/7 at no extra charge tutoring support and academic success coaching, log into JWULINK to use tutor.com and schedule a session.
Look for the link in jwuLink, type tutor.com in the search bar. It will be the first link to come up! Log in to your account with your JWU credentials and then, it will auto-populate with your name and you're ready to go.
