JWU Library Accessibility Resources
Sensory-Supportive Resources
- Text to audio articles and ebooks available in select electronic resources, including the following databases: EBSCO, Gale and ProQuest
- Sensory supportive resources, including fidget toys and meditation cards available in study rooms
- Spaces with enhanced visual and audio privacy
- Spaces with adjustable lighting options
- Quiet spaces available for independent study
Accessible Services
- Reference Services: In-person assistance with accessibility accommodations
- Virtual Reference: Online chat and email support
- Virtual Research Appointments: One-on-one research consultations via video call
Physical Accessibility
Our library buildings are designed to be accessible to all users. For complete campus accessibility information, visit the JWU Accessibility Services website.
Downcity Campus
- Elevator access available
- Accessible entrances and pathways
Harborside Campus
- Ramp access available
- Accessible facilities include restroom and study tables.
Digital/Web Accessibility
The JWU Library is committed to providing accessible digital resources and services.
Our Web Services
- Key pages meet WCAG Level A compliance, with many meeting Level AA standards
- Individual content in LibGuides, LibAnswers, and databases may vary in accessibility coverage
Database Accessibility
- All new e-resources go through the JWU IT accessibility checklist
- When databases cannot meet accessibility standards, we provide access via an Equally Effective Alternative Access Plan (EEAAP)
- Text-to-speech/audio features available for articles in EBSCO databases
Major Database Vendor Accessibility Statements:
- OCLC (WorldCat discovery, cataloging, interlibrary loans): OCLC Accessibility Statement - Commits to WCAG 2.2 Level AA compliance
- EBSCO (research databases, eBooks, discovery service): EBSCO Accessibility - Working toward WCAG 2.1/2.2 Level AA compliance
- SpringShare (LibGuides research guides, LibAnswers chat, LibCal room booking): SpringShare Accessibility Statement - Follows WebAIM accessibility principles
Feedback & Requests
We are continuously working to improve our accessibility. Please let us know:
- What resources or services are we missing?
- How can we better serve your accessibility needs?
- Any barriers you encounter
Contact us: For more information or questions regarding accessibility, reach out via our Ask a Librarian chat service on our homepage.
Created: June 2025 | For questions or suggestions, please contact the library.
