Research Resources
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
- In-depth country overviews with a focus on cultural, social, and business norms
- Includes country geo statistics, facts, maps, photos, and recipes
- Supports cultural competence development for international travel and assignment
- Hospitality and Tourism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Covers cultural, historical, and economic aspects of the hospitality, tourism, and leisure industries, along with current affairs
- The "Topic Finder" tab provides support in selecting a research topic
- Ask a Librarian if you need assistance
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- National and global coverage of hospitality, tourism, food & beverage, event management, and culinary subjects
- Includes scholarly, trade, and news publications along with country and company reports
What is a trade journal?
-
Also known as a "professional magazine", trade journals can include such topics as industry trends, new products, and association news.
-
Trade journal authors are specialists in a certain field or industry and tend to use the jargon of that industry.
-
Articles give practical information and can also include job ads.
-
Intended audience includes people in the industry or people seeking employment in the industry.
How to find trade journals:
- Head to the library website homepage
- Enter your search terms and click "search"
- On the results page, utilize Search Limiters to refine your search (left side)
- Click "Trade Publications" within the "Source Types" category
- Annual ReportsA report that public companies are required to file annually. Included in an annual report is information about a company's assets, liabilities, earnings, and profit or loss.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- Company profiles, SWOT analyses where available, industry profiles, stocks and investment information, management-related articles
- Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, and selective full-text articles
- JWU Library does not have access to Harvard Business Cases
- Business Insights Global This link opens in a new window
- Case studies, company profiles & industry research reports
- Country economic reports, market research reports
- SWOT analyses, and video interviews with business executives, and selective full-text articles
- Wall Street Journal; Eastern Edition (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- WSJ is the world's leading financial newspaper
- Selective full-text articles from 1984 to the present
- Images not included
MLA Formatting and Style Guide
- MLA Guide - Purdue OwlMLA (Modern Language Association) style is most commonly used to write papers and cite sources within the liberal arts and humanities. Includes examples of formatting, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and more.
- MLA Manual - JWU LibraryThis guide indicates the appropriate form for layout, in-text citations, and works cited page as specified by the MLA.
Research Assistance
- Ask a Librarian - ChatHave a quick question? Need some assistance but can't make it to the library? Send us a chat!
- Research AppointmentIf you've got a more in-depth question or could use some help with a bigger project, you can book a time to meet with one of the librarians! Appointments are available in-person at Harborside and Downcity, or online through Zoom.
Writing Support
For further assistance with writing, schedule an appointment at the Academic Success Center. Appointments are available in person, or online through Tutor.com
The Academic Success Center is located in the Yena Center at the Downcity campus, and in the Friedman Center at the Harborside campus.
