Find Books & More!
Also, browse the library shelves from call #s TX715 - TX725 for cookbooks for cuisines around the world.
JWU Recipes
What's that Ingredient?
- Appon's Thai Food BlogThis select list of Thai ingredients includes great photographs, descriptions, and even audio pronunciations.
photo © 2010 meredith williams | more info (via: Wylio)- Arabic Cooking TermsThis GoodCooking.com list was compiled by a Lebanese native.
- Filipino Food/Cuisine GlossaryThis list is based on Doreen G. Fernandez's Palayok: Philippine Food Time, On Site, in the Pot
- Gernot Katzer's Spice PagesIncludes photographs, sensory qualities, origins, etymology, uses, and links to other resources. Also covers spice blends.
- The Cook's ThesaurusIncludes descriptions, pronunciations, photos, and substitutions for thousands of ingredients and kitchen tools.
- Visual Dictionary : Food & KitchenThis Merriam-Webster dictionary offers pictures, short descriptions, and audio pronunciations.
Conversion Calculators
Here's another resource for converting measurements in a recipe.
- Conversion Calculators @ World Wide MetricConvert measurements for pressure, temperature, length, weight, and volume at this company site for World Wide Metric.
Featured Website: Italian Recipes from Babbo Ristorante!
Create dishes served at Babbo! Here, you'll find a large list of Italian dishes from antipasti to dolci e formaggi. Be sure to check out the sweets by Chef Gina DePalma who won the 2009 James Beard Award for Outstanding Pastry Chef!
More Recipe Websites
Find recipes at these websites. Also search the databases in the box below for recipes found in magazines and newpapers.
Find Articles w/Recipes
- Culinary Arts (Gale)Many full-text articles from major cooking and nutrition magazines, plus recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry trends & news.
Use the word recipe in your search.
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO)Many full-text articles covering Baking & Culinary Arts, Business Travel, Event Management, Food & Beverage, Gaming & Casinos, Hospitality Law, Hotel Management, Leisure Studies, Market Trends, Meetings, Menu Planning, Restaurants, and more.
American Regional Recipes on the Web
- Allrecipes.comSearch for regional recipes in a full-range of categories, including Amish, Cajun, Native American, and Soul Food. Nutritional information is included.
- Chef Rick's Southern CookingFind cajun-creole, soul food, and low country recipes here.
- What's Cooking AmericaFind recipes for food specialties throughout the US.
- World Cuisines @ Carnegie Library of PittsburghLooking for even more info? This site has a great collection of links!
International Recipes on the Web
- Allrecipes.comFind recipes for cuisines around the world. Includes a large section on Jewish Recipes. Recipes also include nutritional information.
See boxes below for websites featuring specific areas.
- CookstrBrowse recipes by cuisines from published cookbooks. Includes well-known authors such as Rick Bayless (Mexican cuisine), Marcella Hazen (Italian cuisine), and Madhur Jaffrey (Indian cuisine). Also provides biographical info.
- International Recipes @ Epicurious.comFind recipes for a large number of cuisines.
- What's 4Eats: Intl Recipes & Cooking Around the WorldThis well-organized site is provided by a professional culinary consultant.
- World Cuisines @ Carnegie Library of PittsburghLooking for even more info? This site has a great collection of links!
African Recipes on the Web
- The African CookbookThis site provides excerpts from this book by Bea Sandler. Learn about food culture in different African countries, along with recipes. (Also find this book at Harborside Library.)
- African Cooking & RecipesFind a list of recipes organized by country, provided by an African tour company.
- African KitchenFind recipes, a glossary of tropical foods, and visual instructions for prepping some ingredients. Website created by African cookbook author.
- African Food and Recipes on the InternetNeed even more info? Check out this long list of websites provided by Stanford University.
Asian Recipes on the Web
- Asia SocietyFind a large selection of recipes, many excerpted from the Encyclopedia of Asian Food by Charmaine Solomon. This site also has great background info on various Asian food cultures.
- Food From the Arab WorldThis electronic version of a 1959 cookbook offers a range of recipes and a helpful glossary of arabic terms.
- Iran Chamber SocietyThis website provides a short list of recipes in a variety of categories.
- Japanese CuisinesFind recipes arranged by type of dish. Also find some instruction on decorative food carving.
- Learn to Cook Chinese DishesThis Chinese government site provides recipes by type of dish.
- Persian MirrorFind helpful descriptions, definitions, and recipes for Persian cuisine.
- Sify BawarchiFind Indian recipes by category, ingredient, and region. Check out recipe videos too.
European Recipes on the Web
- GermanFoods.orgFind German recipes by ingredient, type, occasion, and chef.
- Great British CookbookFind British recipes arranged by category.
- Greek-Recipe.comFind a large collection of recipes, including regional dishes here.
- ItalianMade.comFind Italian recipes arranged by course.
- RusCuisineFind a large list of Russian recipes. Each one identifies ethnicity (ex. Russian, Ukrainian, Byelorussian, Georgian, Armenian).
- SaboreaSearch for Spanish recipes by course, region, and ingredients.
Latino Recipes on the Web
- Food, Recipes, and Nutrition in Latin AmericanThe Latin American Network Information Center website offers a long list of online recipe resources, arranged by country and region.
- Rick BaylessMexican cuisine guru, Rick Bayless, offers a great section on recipes and essential ingredients. Also check out television episodes.
