Find Books & More!
Also, browse the library shelves from call #s TX715 - TX725 for cookbooks for cuisines around the world.
Helpful Books @ the Harborside Library
-
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
by
Call Number: GT2850 .E53 2003ISBN: 0684805650Note: Located at the Reference Desk; Library use only; Includes volumes 1-3
Find many encyclopedias and dictionaries at the library desk and in the TX340 - TX353 area of the Harborside Library.
-
Food Culture in Mexico
Call Number: GT 2853 .M6 L66 2005ISBN: 031332431X(Food Culture around the World)
The Harborside Library has 13 different titles of Food Culture around the World that include timelines, historical overviews, major foods and ingredients, cooking, typical meals, eating out, special occasions, diet and health, recipes and more.
NOTE: Located at the Reference Desk; Library use only; This series also available online (see eBooks box above) -
Lonely Planet World Food Portugal
Call Number: GT2853.A1 P67x 2002ISBN: 1864501111(Lonely Planet World Food Guides)
The Harborside Library has 19 different Lonely Planet World Food Guides that include the culture of food and drink, wine regions and types, influences and more.
Note: Located at the Reference Desk; Library use only -
Moveable feasts : the history, science, and lore of food / Gregory McNamee
Call Number: TX353 .M395 2007ISBN: 0275989313Note: Also available online (see eBooks box above) -
The flavor bible : the essential guide to culinary creativity, based on the wisdom of America's most imaginative chefs / Karen Page and Andrew Dornenburg
Call Number: TX651 .P34 2008ISBN: 0316118400Note: Located at the Reference Desk; Library use only -
The Oxford companion to American food and drink
Call Number: TX349 .O94 2007ISBN: 0195307968NOTE: Located at the Reference Desk; Library use only -
The Spice and Herb Bible
by
Call Number: TX406 .H46 2006ISBN: 0778801462Note: Located at the Reference Desk; Library use only
eBooks with Ingredient Info
Take a look at all of the food titles available from ABC-CLIO eBooks. (Click on "Popular Culture" to see "Food" list.)
What's that Ingredient?
-
Appon's Thai Food BlogThis select list of Thai ingredients includes great photographs, descriptions, and even audio pronunciations.
-
Arabic Cooking TermsThis GoodCooking.com list was compiled by a Lebanese native.
-
Cocinas de New MexicoThis glossary of New Mexican foods includes about 100 hundred ingredients and dishes.
-
Filipino Food/Cuisine GlossaryThis list is based on Doreen G. Fernandez's Palayok: Philippine Food Time, On Site, in the Pot
-
French/English Food GlossaryProminent french cuisine author Patricia Wells offers this glossary at her "At Home with Patricia Wells" website.
-
Gernot Katzer's Spice PagesIncludes photographs, sensory qualities, origins, etymology, uses, and links to other resources. Also covers spice blends.
-
Hawaiian Ethnic Food GlossaryThis glossary includes lists for Chinese, Philippine, Hawaiian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Puerto Rican, Samoan, Thai, and Vietnamese foods that are commonly-found in Hawaii.
-
Persian Mirror: Persian CuisineFind a short, yet useful list of Persian ingredients
-
Spice Index @ the Aidan Brooks: Trainee Chef BlogThis spice resource, created by a professional chef, includes photos, background info, and usage.
-
The Cook's ThesaurusIncludes descriptions, pronunciations, photos, and substitutions for thousands of ingredients and kitchen tools.
-
Visual Dictionary : Food & KitchenThis Merriam-Webster dictionary offers pictures, short descriptions, and audio pronunciations.
Origins of Chocolate with Jacques Torres
Websites with Ingredient Info
-
Food-Info.netFind descriptions and history on a number of food products.
These sites offer info on specific ingredients.
-
Gernot Katzer's Spice PagesIncludes photographs, sensory qualities, origins, etymology, uses, and links to other resources. Also covers spice blends.
-
Iowa State's Agricultural Marketing Resource CenterProvides background info and website links for a full-range of commodities in the areas of fruits, grains, livestock, nuts and vegetables.
-
The Food TimelineProvides history of foods, using a variety of references.
Free Images on the Web
-
Classroom ClipartFind over 300 images (clipart and photographs) in the "Foods" category.
Need images for a blog or website? Check out wylio.com!
-
Clipart ReviewIncludes free clipart in the areas of "Food & Drink", "Medieval/Renaissance Food", and more.
-
CoolClipsIncludes many clipart images in its "Food" section.
-
FlickrFlickr's Creative Commons page offers millions of images free for downloading.
-
FreeFoto.comFind about 900 "Food & Drink" photos in its "Other" category near the bottom of the page. Or, use the search box at the top to locate a photo.
-
Pics4Learning.comFind hundreds of photos in the "Food" section.
-
USDA Agricultural Research Service Image GalleryProvides photos of crops, fruits, vegetables, and other agricultural areas.
-
Wikimedia CommonsOffers over 7 million free images, including a sizable food category.
Google Your Ingredient
Search for your specific ingredient. It may be helpful to add the word "~history". (Using the "~" will also locate synonyms of your word.)
