Recommended Books
A-B-C: Analogues in Business Communication by
The highlight of many peoples' daily lives is business, the act of communicating and exchanging, negotiating and transacting, of selling and buying. In business, while there is always potential for transaction, nothing happens until the business is explained or the deal is done. Communication is a central ingredient. In fact, good communication alone can constitute a business practice. It is certainly a social and informant activity which facilitates business interaction. However, the study of business communication produces as many questions as there are answers: "What was that order again?"; "How do I best advise my staff of this latest developments and the company's progress?"; "How do I work with the competition to better our sales?"; "How do I explain this?" The purpose of this book is to understand vital concepts of business communication in eight easy to read, but scholarly chapters. A-B-C: Analogues in Business Communication takes a fresh look at many of the issues that people face in the business world at any level today, including such questions as: "When and how to reduce uncertainty"; "What leads to credibility?" and making decisions, management, leadership and self-esteem; "When to use competition and co-operation?"; "What is selling?" and coping with information overload. Bringing together related concepts in business communication, this book aims to entertain and inform, showing that beneath the plethora of tasks that face us every day in the business world, there are a number of constants, which when understood in more depth, can make business communication easier at a conceptual level for anyone and everyone. Business is about efficiency, it is about suppliers meeting demand. In business, no one wants to take longer to accomplish something than he or she needs to; that is, good business communication saves time. But in order to save time, knowing how to navigate the salient concepts of the business environment is useful. Who has not heard the business aphorism to "make things happen!"? In order to "make things happen" you need to communicate, and you need to be able to understand the communication concerns of your business environment. This is the purpose of A-B-C: Analogues in Business Communication.
Call Number: E-book only.Publication Date: 2016-01-01
The AMA Handbook of Business DocumentsCall Number: HF5726.W675 2011Available at Downcity Library OR as an e-book.
Answers for Modern Communicators by
This book provides students and professionals with practical answers to important career and communication questions, helping them to communicate successfully in a business setting. Communication expert, Deirdre Breakenridge, examines the ways in which professionals can make the most of their careers in a fast-changing media landscape, offering advice on how new and seasoned executives can utilize and adapt to the latest modes of communication. The author breaks down the eight most critical areas for professionals seeking to develop their communication skills, opening with essentials that will prove useful in any setting. She then details the ways in which organizations can adapt to changes in technology and consumer behavior to improve relationships, social media presence, and brand recognition. The easy to follow question-answer format walks readers through the most pressing, confusing, and frequently asked questions about successful communication with plenty of advice and examples for a better learning experience. Covering traditional business communication topics like partnerships and storytelling, the book also includes material on digital and social media channels as well as a chapter on giving back as a mentor. "Experts Weigh In" boxes feature advice from other top professionals, exposing the reader to multiple perspectives from the field. Grounded in decades of experience, Answers for Modern Communicators will benefit all students getting ready to enter the workforce as well as professionals looking to enhance their communication skills.
Call Number: E-book only.Publication Date: 2017-09-27
Business Writing for Innovators and Change-Makers by
Business Writing for Innovators and Change-Makers will empower you to build your confidence as a communicator, strengthen your brand, and increase your impact with your customers and clients. Business Writing for Innovators and Change-Makers is a writing guidebook with street-smarts. It recognizes the unique communication challenges entrepreneurs face and offers clear action steps for tackling them. As an entrepreneur with a pioneering product or service to offer the world, you can't rely on cookie-cutter communication templates to get your meaning across. You need a set of writing strategies that are quick to implement and easy to adapt to a wide variety of communication situations, from emails to pitch decks. Dawn Henwood provides a simple, flexible approach to writing that will open your eyes to the subtle ways written communication can engage and motivate your target audience. Whether you are just starting your business or scaling up to the next level of success, you'll find Dawn's straightforward teaching just the help you need to make your message heard. Business Writing for Innovators and Change-Makers will empower you to build your confidence as a communicator, strengthen your brand, and increase your impact with your customers and clients.
Call Number: E-book only.Publication Date: 2020-07-24
The Only Business Writing Book You'll Ever Need by
A winning combination of how-to guide and reference work, The Only Business Writing Book You'll Ever Need addresses a wide-ranging spectrum of business communication with its straightforward seven-step method. These easy-to-follow steps save you time from start to finish, and helpful checklists will boost your confidence as they keep you on track. You'll learn to promote yourself and your ideas clearly and concisely--whether putting together a persuasive project proposal or dealing with daily email. Laura Brown's supportive, no-nonsense approach to business writing is thoughtfully adapted to the increasingly digital corporate landscape. She provides practical tips and comprehensive examples for all the most popular forms of communication, including slide presentations, résumés, cover letters, web copy, and a thorough guide to the art of crafting e-mails and instant messages. Insightful sidebars from experts in various fields demystify the skills of self-editing, creating content, and overcoming writer's block, and Brown's reference-ready resources on style, punctuation, and grammar will keep your writing error-free. Nuanced, personable, and of-the-moment, The Only Business Writing Book You'll Ever Need offers essential tools for success in the rapidly changing world of business communication.
Call Number: Available at Downcity Library: HF5718.3.B765 2019Publication Date: 2019-01-29
Words That Work in Business, 2nd Edition by
Addressing the most common workplace relationship challenges, this manual shows how to use the principles of nonviolent communication to improve any workplace atmosphere. Offering practical tools that match recognizable work scenarios, this guide can help all employees positively affect their work relationships and company culture, regardless of their position. This handbook displays proven communication skills for effectively handling difficult conversations, reducing workplace conflict and stress, improving individual and team productivity, having more effective meetings, and giving and receiving meaningful feedback, thereby creating a more enjoyable work environment.
Call Number: E-book only.Publication Date: 2019-04-01
Writing for the Workplace by
Employers consider communication one of the most critical skills for workers today. Writing for the Workplace: Business Communication for Professionals is an easy- to-follow guide that provides strategies for effective professional communication. Written to address the needs of both students entering the workforce and business professionals looking to improve their written communication, the book offers guides to compose typical workplace documents, from effective e-mails and convincing reports to winning presentations and engaging resumes. This concise book offers busy readers concrete strategies to improve their workplace writing.
Call Number: E-book only.Publication Date: 2015-05-11
Zen and the Art of Business Communication by
In today's online world, our professional image depends on our ability to communicate. Whether we're communicating by email, text, social media, written reports or presentations, how we use our words often determines how others view us. This book offers tips and techniques that can improve anyone's professional image. The author covers how to analyze multiple audiences and strategies for communicating your message effectively for each; structuring your message for greatest readability and effect; persuasion and tone; and how to face your own fears of writing. The content is delivered in a simple, clear style that reflects the Zen approach of the title, perfect for both the entry-level employee and the seasoned executive.
Call Number: E-book only.Publication Date: 2016-09-11
Other Useful Resources
- Business LettersFrom the Writing Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Includes samples and detailed instructions.
- Professional, Technical WritingFrom the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL).
- Writing Guide: Business LettersFrom Colorado State University.
- How to Write a Business LetterFrom the University of Wisconsin - Madison
