Skip to main content

Embedded LibGuides kjc

Guide for embedding

EDUC Library Resources

headshot

Hello, my name is Kerry Caparco and I am a Reference Librarian at the Harborside Campus Library.

I am your personal librarian for all your research needs.

Please contact me by phone (401.598.1248) or e-mail: kcaparco@jwu.edu.

Or, make an appointment

Did you know you can also chat or text with a librarian?  It's anonymous, free, and super fast!

Helpful databases:

ABC-CLIO EBook Collection  

E-books in wide-ranging areas including the Arts, Business, Crime & Justice, Education, Family Studies/Issues, Food, Health/Medicine, Law, Library & Information Science, Literature, Multicultural Studies, Popular Culture, Psychology, and Science.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Many full-text articles from over 8,600 journal titles covering topics in such areas as Animal & Veterinary Science, Area Studies (country info.), Arts, Biology, Chemistry, Education, Engineering, Ethnic & Multicultural Studies, Food Science & Technology, Humanities, Law, Literature, Psychology, Religion, Science, and more. Includes some full-text back to 1887.

Credo Reference

Over 500 reference books online including biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and quotations in many subject areas: Art, Business, Food & Beverage, General Reference, Geography, History, Language, Law, Literature, Medicine/Health, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Science, Social Sciences, and Technology. See the “Tools" tab for using their image library, looking up quotations or a country's holidays & festivals. NOTE: To look for a specific ebook title in the collection, use the "Find a Book Tab" and the "Title contains" searchbox.

Dissertations & Theses Full Text: Humanities & Social Sciences Coll. (ProQuest)

Over 1 million full-text dissertations published internationally since 1997 can be downloaded in PDF format including 24-page previews of dissertations and theses, where available. You can also check off "Full text documents only." Note: TO LIMIT YOUR SEARCH TO JWU's DISSERTATIONS: In the "School name/code" search box, either enter Johnson & Wales or select it from the "Look up schools" drop-down menu. Dissertations published from 1999 forward by Johnson & Wales University graduates of the doctoral Ed. D. program in Educational Leadership, are available online and can be downloaded by authorized JWU users. NOTE: If you are prompted to “Order a copy” because a JWU dissertation is unavailable electronically, please complete and submit an Inter-Library Loan Dissertation Request Form online at website https://library.uri.edu/illd~S29

Education Research Complete (EBSCO)

Many full-text articles from 1,400 journal titles and the full text of nearly 550 e-books and conference papers. Coverage includes Administration, Curriculum Instruction, Early Childhood to Higher Education, Funding, Health Education, Multilingual Education, Policy, and Testing.

Emerald Insight

Selective, full-text management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.

Films on Demand Complete (Infobase)

Over 15,000 streaming videos 24/7. Many areas of interest including business & economics, careers & job searching, computers & technology, criminal justice, culinary arts & nutrition, digital media, education, engineering, English, fashion/textiles & merchandising, food prep & safety, food science & service, guidance & counseling, health, science & social sciences. Watch Archival Films & Newsreels for important events and interviews with influential people in American culture & history.

Lynda.com at JWU

ACCESS: From Lynda.jwu.edu you will land on the "Sign into your JWU email" page.   Log in with your JWU username & password to discover an online library of instructional videos on the latest software tools, business and education skills.  With more than 4,000+ courses taught by industry experts—and more added every week—lynda.com is designed for all levels of learners and is available online from any computer or mobile device.

MEF Digital (Media Education Foundation) (Kanopy)

Streaming educational videos from MEF (Media Education Foundation). You can use the BROWSE SUBJECTS button for faster searching from a drop-down list. Examples include The ARTS (Design, Fashion, Literature, Visual Art); BUSINESS/TRAINING (Business & Economics, Careers, Food Technology, Hospitality & Tourism, Technical Education, Training & Development); EDUCATION (Teacher Education Development); HEALTH (Biomedical Science, Medicine, Vision Science); HUMANITIES (Asian & Middle Eastern Studies); MEDIA/COMM (Cultures & Politics in Media, Gender, Race, & Diversity in Media, Marketing, Advertising, & PR); and SCIENCES (Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science & IT, Engineering).

PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)

Many full-text articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations dating back as early as 1894 (over 100 years of coverage). All areas of psychology are covered including Basic/Experimental Psych., Clinical Psych., Developmental Psych., Education & School Psych., Health Psych., Industrial/Organizational Psych., Social Psych., and Social

SAGE Journals Online

Full-text journal articles are ONLY AVAILABLE FROM 1999-TO THE CURRENT YEAR in such fields as Administration & Leadership, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice, Cultures, Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science, Hospitality, Information Science, Literature, Marketing, Sports, Travel & Tourism. FOR FULL-TEXT ARTICLES PUBLISHED FROM 1999 TO THE PRESENT: (1) Checkmark “SAGE Content Available to Me” and (2) Specify a DATE RANGE from 1999 through [current year].

ScholarsArchive@JWU

Repository for journal articles, working papers, dissertations & theses, and other creative works published by Johnson & Wales University faculty, students, and staff, plus special collections such as restaurant menus.

Statista

Statistics, market studies & reports for over 600 international industries, 37 countries, and 60,000 wide-ranging topics! Enter your own search terms or browse data reports listed under these links: Categories, Key Topics, Popular Statistics, and Recent Statistics. A sampling includes college enrollment with projections up to 2020 in the U.S., college payment (how U.S. families pay for college), college sports, debit cards, demographics (size & characteristics of a population), employment outlook, food & beverage, footwear & apparel, global climate change, hospital costs, hospitality (conventions, conferences, dining & accommodations), immigration, mobile Internet & apps, nutrition, online shopping, personal debt, smartphones, social media, travel & tourism (cruise industry), video gaming, wages & salaries. NOTE: Click through any security certificate warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear in order to proceed to the Statista website and display all content.