Library Resources
Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for your ESL course.
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Seriously. I got you!
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Sarah Naomi Campbell| scampbell@jwu.edu | 401-598-5019
Did you know you can also chat or text with a librarian? It's anonymous, free, and super fast!
Online? Check out the Online Students tab for specific writing help, just for you!
On campus? Visit the JWU Writing Lab at either Downcity or Harborside for fast and easy help with assignments. Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, the student writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process.
Top Four Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
- Open Mon - Thurs 4-10 pm, Sun 12-10 pm.
- Walk-ins welcome; appointments strongly recommended.
- Book an appointment: http://pvd.library.jwu.edu/writinglab
- Email: jwuwritinglab@jwu.edu
Curious about how it all works? Check out this sweet video created by an awesome team of JWU students!
Did you know you can also submit your paper online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to Smarthinking for seriously awesome feedback within 24 -48 hours? It's FREE! Look for the link in JWULink, under the Academic tab, under Tutoring.
For in-person tutoring, help with accommodations for students living with disabilities, and study-skills workshops, contact the Center for Academic Support.
Working on the Leadership Presentation? We've got you.
Your first challenge is to choose an interesting person to profile, and then focus in on the most fascinating aspect of their background, and add in an interesting angle and engaging details to determine why this person is a leader in their field.
Example 1: If you were to profile Chef Alice Waters, you might focus in, as this article did, on her philosophy of "Social Responsibility" and sustainable, farm-to-table produce which contributed to her success. In the following profile piece, The Millennial Restaurant, the author focuses in on Chef Waters' journey to Paris in search of a new space, and her revolutionary definition of a restaurant as "a platform, an exhibit, a classroom, a conservatory, a laboratory, and a garden." What makes the profile so fascinating is the angle - how she creates socially responsible dining and the details of the setting - in this case, Paris.
Example 2: If you were to profile Beyoncé, on the other hand, you might focus in on a unique aspect of her identity which contributed to her success; "Business Beyoncé, hypercomposed Beyoncé - fashionable, elegant, in charge." In the following profile piece, Miss Millennium: Beyoncé, the article explores Queen Bey's entrepreneurial philosophy and how it is influenced by her identity as a feminist. What makes this piece so compelling is the focus on the business side of Beyonce, as opposed to a fashion or music angle.
Start here:
Use Academic Search to search for articles on specific angles for your Leadership Presentation. For example, if you're profiling Chef Waters, use the search box to find scholarly, trade, or magazine articles on "Chef Waters", along with your angle, such as "Social Responsibility"
Subject Terms are way better than random keywords, because they are substantially about your person or topic, rather than just mentioning it.
Enter in your keywords, and then look for a Subject Term mentioning your person. These are hyperlinked to more articles.
PE "Jobs, Steven, 1955-2011"
For Company Information, in Academic Search, click the Company Information Tab and enter in the company's name.
Example: Apple, Inc
Companies can also have Subject Terms:
DE "APPLE Inc."
This will provide you with information for Company information:
- Job Title
- How many employees
- How many locations
To search for Trade Publications, follow these steps from the library homepage or in any EBSCO database (like Academic Search Complete) Looking for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) articles? Click Academic Journals or check Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) on the left hand side.
Use Biography to search for articles on specific people for your Profile paper. For example, if you're profiling Beyoncé, use the search box to find scholarly articles on "Beyoncé", along with biographical information. Notice the many different kinds of sources available, from Academic, to News, to Multimedia/Videos.
To search for a person for your profile piece and cite the article, follow these steps using the link to Biography In Context.
Wondering how to get started on your research paper? No worries! Your first challenge is to choose an interesting topic, and then focus in on the most fascinating angle.
Pro-Tip: Start with Academic Search Complete
Use Academic Search to search for articles on specific angles for your research paper. For example, if your topic is "Texting while Driving", use the search box to find trade or scholarly articles on "Texting while Driving", along with your angle, such as a "Texting Ban" or the role of "alcohol".
- Enter in your basic search terms, such as "Steve Jobs"
- Limit to Full Text, so you can read articles online
- Check Trade for trade articles or Scholarly/Peer Reviewed for academic articles
- Scroll down the first page of articles, and click on the most interesting one
- Click on one of the Subject Terms (they're hyperlinked) and see where it takes you!
English Grammar for ESL Learners by Call Number: PE1128 .S9774 2005ISBN: 9780071441322Publication Date: 2004-12-07Continuing the success of the bestselling Practice Makes Perfect series,Practice Makes Perfect English Grammar for ESL Learnersfeatures well-organized presentations, skill-building exercises, and a focus on practical conversational skills. Here you will find clear explanations accompanied by highlighted examples and boxed summaries of key points. You also get numerous exercises in a variety of formats, including fill-inthe-blank sentences and passages, translations, multiple-choice questions, sentence rewriting, and creative writing exercises. Answers to all questions are provided in the back of the book.
Oxford ESL dictionary : for students of American EnglishCall Number: PE1628 .O95 1991ISBN: 0194314030Publication Date: 1991English dictionary with over 35,000 words and definitions including some American idioms and slang.
Science Research Writing for Non-Native Speakers of English by ISBN: 9781848167209Publication Date: 2009-12-18This book is designed to enable non-native English speakers to write science research for publication in English. It can also be used by English speakers and is a practical, user-friendly book intended as a fast, do-it-yourself guide for those whose English language proficiency is above intermediate. The book guides the reader through the process of writing science research and will also help with writing a Master''s or Doctoral thesis in English. Science writing is much easier than it looks because the structure and language are conventional. The aim of this book is to help the reader discover a template or model for science research writing and then to provide the grammar and vocabulary tools needed to operate that model.
Understanding English Grammar by ISBN: 9789888053018Publication Date: 2005-01-01The book is designed for students' learning on their own as well as in a classroom. Each chapter is accompanied by a separate 'students' notes', which the students can consult after working through all the data and exercises in each chapter, to check their own answers and to read further explanations on the grammatical points in question.
English Linguistics by ISBN: 9783110215489Publication Date: 2010-06-17The book introduces the reader to the central areas of English linguistics. The main sections are: the English language and linguistics - sounds - meaning-carrying units - sentences: models of grammar - meaning - utterances - variation. Notably, the book is written from a foreign student's perspective of the English language, i.e. aspects relevant to foreign language teaching receive particular attention. A great deal of emphasis is put on the insights to be gained from the analysis of corpora, especially with respect to the idiomatic character of language (idiom principle, valency approach). In addition, the text offers basic facts about the history of the language and elaborates on the differences between British and American English. The author demonstrates that a linguistic fact can usually be described in more than one way. To this end, each section contains a chapter written for beginners providing a broad outline and introducing the basic terminology. The remaining chapters in each section highlight linguistic facts in more detail and give an idea of how particular theories account for them. The book can be used both from the first semester onwards and as perfect study aid for final B.A.-examinations.
Writing and Motivation by ISBN: 9780080466132Publication Date: 2006-01-01The aim of this volume is to bring together contributions from international research on writing and motivation. It not only addresses the basic question of how motivation to write can be fostered, but also provides analyses of conceptual and theoretical issues at the intersection of the topics of motivation and writing. What emerges from the various chapters is that the motivational aspects of writing represent a rich, productive and partially still unexplored research field. This volume is a step in the direction of a more systematic analysis of the problems as well as an effort to present and compare various models, perspectives and methods of motivation and writing.
Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?
1. Save time - look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.
2. Scroll to the style you need (MLA, APA)
3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper
Ta Da! You're done! Well, almost. Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL! It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go.
Using Google can be really helpful when you're doing research, especially if you use these quick tips!
1. Change the "Domain"​
- Looking for Government information? Use .gov in your search
- If you search "Statistics on the economy" site:gov, you'll find government sites focusing on the economy, such as the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
- Looking for Education resources? Use .edu in your search
- If you search "statistics on the economy" site:edu, you'll find academic sites focusing on the economy, such as articles from colleges and universities.
- Looking for Non-Profit research? Use .org in your search
- If you search "statistics on the economy" site:org, you'll find non-profit sites focusing on the economy, such as the United Nations Statistics division.
​2. Put your search in "Quotes"
- If you're searching for more than one word, use quotes to search as a phrase.
- ​EX: "Student Loans"
- A Google Scholar search will bring you lots of academic results, and it is a great place to start.
- If you can't read the articles online, let us know and we'll find the Full Text for you!
