ILS 2015
Welcome. We are so happy to serve as your library liaisons!
Think of us as your research partners. We can assist you with finding articles, developing a research topic, citing sources...you name it! Visit our homepage to learn more.
To meet with us for specialized research assistance, schedule a research appointment. Looking for private study space? Natural light? Check out our sensory-supportive map or book a study room, featuring enhanced visual and audio privacy.
JWU librarians are available for research appointments in-person, over the phone, and online. We are more than happy to help you!
Looking for immediate research assistance? Chat or Text us!
Database Share Out
Google Activity
- Break into groups by topic
- Enter your names next to your group # and choose a presenter
- Once in the database, each person will find at least one report/article
- For each database, determine:
- What kind of information/resources are available in this database?
- Did you find any useful information for the final project and if yes, what?
- How do you cite information found in this database? Post the citation/link.
- Is there a “cite” button or do you have to create a citation from scratch?
- Do you have any questions about using/searching in the database?
Databases:https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://journals.sagepub.com/
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- Sage
- Statista
- JSTOR
- Newspapers -US Dailies
- Website:
Before we begin…
Let’s do a quick dive into EBESCO’s collection of databases:
MyEBESCO - let’s create an account. This is a really useful feature, which allows you to save articles and article searches according to “projects” you create. Let’s start by adding our JWU email and a password to create an account. Then, we can create a project for this class and finally, save articles we find into the project file we created.
Let’s start with a simple title search: enter the title and choose “Title” from the drop down box.
Now, let’s explore the subjects available: Feminism in Literature could be interesting:
When we find one that we like, Straus, Nina Pelikan. “The Exclusion of the Intended from Secret Sharing in Conrad’s Heart of Darkness.” Novel: A Forum on Fiction, vol. 20, Jan. 1987, pp. 123–37. EBSCOhost, https://doi-org.jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/10.2307/1345873
Once you have an article you like or several, click the boxes on the left and then the “save” icon to choose the Project file.
The JWU library has two style guides:
However, if you need more in depth guidance on formatting go to the Purdue OWL.
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- If you are an online student, you can go to the online writing center for information about how to contact a writing coach.
- If you are a PVD campus student you can schedule an appointment with the writing coach through uSucceed.
The Academic Success Center is open for in-person and remote appointments by zoom.
Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing tutors are kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. Visit the Academic Success Center website for more information.
Top Tips for Working with the Academic Success Center:
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485
- Visit us live on the first floor of the Yena Center
For 24/7 at no extra charge tutoring support and academic success coaching, log into JWULINK to use tutor.com and schedule a session.
Look for the link in jwuLink, type tutor.com in the search bar. It will be the first link to come up! Log in to your account with your JWU credentials and then, it will auto-populate with your name and you're ready to go.
