HIST 3020
Welcome. I am so happy to serve as your library liaison!
Think of me as your research partner...I can assist you with finding articles, developing a research topic, citing sources... you name it!
Visit our homepage to learn more.
To meet with me for specialized research assistance, schedule a research appointment or reach out directly: scampbell@jwu.edu
JWU librarians are available for research appointments in-person, over the phone, and online. We would be more than happy to help you!
For immediate help, use the Ask a librarian chat below or Text us.
JWU Library has partnered with your professor to provide access to many of the texts required for this course. Click on the titles below to access or use our Ask a Librarian chat service for more information.
Some of the texts are available via Course Reserve - these texts are available in print in the library. Bring your JWU ID and check them out for 2 hours at a time to read in the library, or use the library scanner to scan a chapter to your email for free.
Some of the texts are available as e-books - click the titles and follow the directions to read these online.
Reach out with any questions directly at scampbell@jwu.edu or for immediate help, use the Ask a Librarian chat service to connect with a librarian when the library is open.
A Different Mirror
Link to E-book
Link to Print copy at Downcity Library
A Larger Memory
Link to E-book
Link to Print copy at Downcity Library
How to Be An AntiRacist
Link to E-book
Link to Print copy at Downcity Library
Many Thousands Gone : The First Two Centuries of Slavery in North America (1st edition)
Link to E-book
Lies My Teacher Told Me
Link to E-book
Harvest of Empire
Link to E-Book via Internet Archive (Sign up for a free account, then click "Login & Borrow" to borrow free of charge. Ask a Librarian for help!)
The Myths That Made America
Link to E-book
The History of White People
Link to Print copy at Downcity Library
Link to E-Book via Internet Archive (Sign up for a free account, then click "Login & Borrow" to borrow free of charge. Ask a Librarian for help!)
Why You Can't Teach United States History Without American Indians
Link to E-book
The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story
Link to Print Copy at Downcity Library
Link to E-Book via the NYTimes
Link to E-Book via Internet Archive (Sign up for a free account, then click "Login & Borrow" to borrow free of charge. Ask a Librarian for help!)
- History Reference eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Historical reference books covering global topics from the ancient world through today
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences XI Collection This link opens in a new window
- For access to content that JWU subscribes to, please select "Advanced Search" from JSTOR's homepage, then select "Content I can access" from the "Select an access type" drop down menu
- Features a diverse group of humanities, language and literature, rhetoric and composition journals from 15 countries
- Millions of high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- Provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources such as newsletters and speeches, as well as LGBTQ+ magazines, regional newspapers and case studies
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles from 1999-TO THE CURRENT YEAR
- Content covers fields such as Administration & Leadership, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice, Cultures, Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science, Hospitality, Information Science, Literature, Marketing, Sports, Travel & Tourism
- Proquest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
- Dissertations and Theses published internationally since 1997
- TO LIMIT YOUR SEARCH TO JWU DISSERTATIONS: In the "School name/code" search box, either enter Johnson & Wales or select it from the "Look up schools" drop-down menu
The JWU library has two style guides:
However, if you need more in depth guidance on formatting visit the Purdue OWL.
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- If you are an online student, you can go to the online writing center for information about how to contact a writing tutor.
- If you are a PVD campus student you can schedule an appointment with a writing tutor through uSucceed.
The Academic Success Center is open for in-person and remote appointments by zoom.
Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing tutors are kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process for your HIST 3020 course. Visit the Academic Success Center website for more information.
Top Tips for Working with the Academic Success Center:
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485
- Book an appointment online via USucceed: In jwulink, under Tools,.click Academics tab, Usucceed- Look for "My Success Network" Academic Success Network or make a writing tutor appointment.
- Visit us live on the first floor of the Yena Center.
