Search the Library for...
Greetings! I am honored to be your personal librarian for HOSP2011.
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Seriously. I got you!
Stressing out over the textbook? No worries! Ask a librarian if we have copies on reserve.
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Jenny Castel | jcastel @jwu.edu | 401-598-6577
You can also chat or text with the librarian on duty.
chat loading...
Hospitality Databases
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- National and global coverage of hospitality, tourism, food & beverage, event management, and culinary subjects
- Includes scholarly, trade, and news publications along with country and company reports
- Hospitality and Tourism (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- Covers cultural, historical, and economic aspects of the hospitality, tourism, and leisure industries, along with current affairs
- The "Topic Finder" tab provides support in selecting a research topic
- Ask a Librarian if you need assistance
What is a Trade Journal?
- Topics include: industry trends, new products or techniques, and association news
- Contains job ads
- Authors are specialists in a certain field or industry
- Intended audience includes people in the industry or people seeking employment in the industry
- Articles give practical information to people in an industry
- Authors use jargon of the industry
- Also known as a "professional magazine"
How do I find Trade Journals?
When searching in the catalog, or in databases, on the left hand side, look for Trade Journals
Make sure "Peer Reviewed/Scholarly" journals are NOT clicked.
If you get stuck, ask a librarian for help!
- Business Insights Global This link opens in a new window
- Case studies, company profiles & industry research reports
- Country economic reports, market research reports
- SWOT analyses, and video interviews with business executives, and selective full-text articles
- Wall Street Journal; Eastern Edition (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- WSJ is the world's leading financial newspaper
- Selective full-text articles from 1984 to the present
- Images not included
- Annual ReportsA report that public companies are required to file annually. Included in an annual report is information about a company's assets, liabilities, earnings, and profit or loss.
Use the Purdue OWL to learn more about MLA style. If you have any questions or are unsure about in-text citations, your Works Cited page, or formatting in general, I attached some documents below that may help. Or, ask a librarian for help! You can also email me, jennifer.castel@jwu.edu.
