Images, Copyright, & Fair Use: Find Images

Icons for everything.

Fonts and more.

Over 900 images

Access to more than 9 million digital items from over 100 historical collections. Materials are from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, so some may have copyright protection.

20,000 plus fine art and photography images from known and mid-emerging artists with complete captions.

High quality images of painting, sculpture, architecture and the minor arts from most of the world's major museums, monuments, and commercial archives.

An online version of the 1918 edition, including over 1,200 illustrations; browse text sections for images in context or click "illustrations" to browse images only. Number 892 for eyeball, 220 for hand.

Illustrated newspapers (starting 1909) from the Library of Congress's Historical Newspapers image collection, displayed on Flickr. Contains many public domain images.

Historic menu collection donated by the National Restaurant Association.

Prints & Photographs dating to the early 1800s. Over 12.000 images available.

NYPL Digital Gallery provides access to over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library.

180,000 items. NYPL now makes it possible to download items in the highest resolution available directly from the Digital Collections website.
No permission required. No restrictions on use.

Portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in teaching and research.

A database of 15,665,536 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.

Creative Commons licenses provide simple, standardized alternatives to the “all rights reserved” paradigm of traditional copyright.