Search the Library for...
Types of Scholarly Articles
How to Read a Primary Research Article
Search Strategy: Citation Chasing
APA Style
APA Style - Citing and Document Formatting
Purdue OWL - APA citation and formatting style
Scribbr - APA Citation Generator and Guide
Tip: How To Automatically Add Citations And Bibliographies To Microsoft Word
Reference Management Tools
Reference Management Tools help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research. Two popular products that offer free accounts:
- Store files and bibliographic records (citation info), and notes
- Import sources directly from internet and databases
- Create citations and bibliographies directly in Word and Google Docs
- Sync data across devices
- Collaborate and share with others
Compare popular citation management software (RefWorks, EndNote, Zotero, WizFolio) from University of Toronto, UC - San Diego, and MIT.
Article & Dissertation Databases
- Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Many full-text articles from 1,400 journal titles and the full text of nearly 550 e-books and conference papers. Coverage includes Administration, Curriculum Instruction, Early Childhood to Higher Education, Funding, Health Education, Multilingual Education, Policy, and Testing.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window NOTE: For full-text articles and book chapters: CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" and look for the solid green, square icon. Covers management in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window Full-text journal articles are ONLY AVAILABLE FROM 1999-TO THE CURRENT YEAR in such fields as Administration & Leadership, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice, Cultures, Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science, Hospitality, Information Science, Literature, Marketing, Sports, Travel & Tourism. FOR FULL-TEXT ARTICLES PUBLISHED FROM 1999 TO THE PRESENT: (1) Checkmark “SAGE Content Available to Me” and (2) Specify a DATE RANGE from 1999 through [current year].
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window IMPORTANT: In order to access JWU's subscriber-only content (OPEN THE PAD-LOCKED ARTICLES) and use its special features, you MUST CREATE A FREE Chronicle account. FIRST-TIME USERS: To set up your account from ON or OFF campus, use the url below to be "e-verified: https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://www.chronicle.com. Use the the "Log In" link then go to "Create an Account" and enter your JWU email address; @wildcats.jwu.edu or @jwu.edu and a password of your choice. Then, next time GO DIRECTLY to the Chronicle site at https://www.chronicle.com and log in with your Chronicle credentials. The Chronicle is updated daily; the number #1 source for the latest news, information, and job postings in the field of education. See reports about the academic workplace, admissions, diversity, information technology, online learning, and other topics. Also includes data from the annual Almanac such as state-by-state profiles of education.
- Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
- ScholarsArchive@JWU This link opens in a new window
- Proquest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar
Note: Slides will autoplay. Feel free to stop it and move through the slides at your own pace.
eBooks
Understanding College and University Organization by ISBN: 9781579227715Publication Date: 2012-04-19
Understanding College and University Organization by ISBN: 9781579221324Publication Date: 2012-02-28
Organizing your research
- Reference Manager Comparison Chart (Dartmouth College) Reference managers, at a glance. Resources to help you cite sources and manage references.
- Organizing Your Literature: Spreadsheet Style Strategies for using nested spreadsheets to organize your lit review.
- Literature Review Matrix (Templates) Courtesy of Dr. Gary Burkholder in the School of Psychology, these sample matrices are one option to help organize your articles.
- Excel Basics In this free Excel tutorial, learn how to create formulas and charts, use functions, format cells, and do more with your spreadsheets.
- Excel Quick Tips Learn these Excel tips and tricks so you can do more with this popular spreadsheet program.
Legal Research
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- HeinOnline FastCase This link opens in a new window
