Search the Library for...
Engineering Library Ebooks
-
CAD and Rapid Prototyping for Product Design
by
Computer-aided design (CAD) and rapid prototyping (RP) are now a fundamental part of the professional practice of product design and are therefore essential skills for product design undergraduate students. This book provides students with all the tools needed to get to grips with the range of both CAD software and RP processes used in the industry. Presented in a visually engaging format, this book is packed with case study examples from contemporary product designers, as well as screen shots, CAD models, and images of rapid prototypes highlighting the design process. This book shows how CAD and RP software is used in product design and explains, in clear language, the similarities and differences between the different software packages and processes.
ISBN: 9781780673424Publication Date: 2014-06-17 -
AutoCAD 2018 and AutoCAD LT 2018 Essentials
by
The step-by-step, full-color AutoCAD 2018 guide with real-world practicality AutoCAD 2018 and AutoCAD LT 2018 Essentials provides a full-color, task-based approach to mastering this powerful software. Straightforward, easy-to-follow instruction pairs with real-world, hands-on exercises to help you quickly get up to speed with core features and functions; screenshots illustrate tutorial steps to help you follow along, and each chapter concludes with a more open-ended project so you can dive in and explore a specific topic in-depth. From 2D drawing and organization to 3D modeling, dimensioning, presenting, and more, this helpful guide walks you through everything you need to know to become productive with AutoCAD 2018 and AutoCAD LT 2018. The companion website features downloadable starting and ending files for each exercise, so you can jump in at any point and compare your work to the pros, as well as additional tutorials to help you go as deep as you need to go. Exercises walk you through the real-world process of drafting while teaching you critical skills along the way. Understand the AutoCAD interface and foundational concepts Master essential drawing and visualization tools Stay organized with layers, groups, and blocks Experiment with 3D modeling, add text and dimensions, and much more AutoCAD is the industry-leading technical drawing software, and complete mastery is a vital skill for any design and drafting professional. AutoCAD 2018 and AutoCAD LT 2018 Essentials is a smart, quick resource that will help you get up to speed with real-world practical instruction.
ISBN: 9781119386780Publication Date: 2017-06-12 -
Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management
by
IIE/Joint Publishers Book of the Year Award 2016! Awarded for 'an outstanding published book that focuses on a facet of industrial engineering, improves education, or furthers the profession'. Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management emphasizes practical issues and examples of decision making with applications in engineering design and management Featuring a blend of theoretical and analytical aspects, this book presents multiple perspectives on decision making to better understand and improve risk management processes and decision-making systems. Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management uniquely presents and discusses three perspectives on decision making: problem solving, the decision-making process, and decision-making systems. The author highlights formal techniques for group decision making and game theory and includes numerical examples to compare and contrast different quantitative techniques. The importance of initially selecting the most appropriate decision-making process is emphasized through practical examples and applications that illustrate a variety of useful processes. Presenting an approach for modeling and improving decision-making systems, Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management also features: Theoretically sound and practical tools for decision making under uncertainty, multi-criteria decision making, group decision making, the value of information, and risk management Practical examples from both historical and current events that illustrate both good and bad decision making and risk management processes End-of-chapter exercises for readers to apply specific learning objectives and practice relevant skills A supplementary website with instructional support material, including worked solutions to the exercises, lesson plans, in-class activities, slides, and spreadsheets An excellent textbook for upper-undergraduate and graduate students, Engineering Decision Making and Risk Management is appropriate for courses on decision analysis, decision making, and risk management within the fields of engineering design, operations research, business and management science, and industrial and systems engineering. The book is also an ideal reference for academics and practitioners in business and management science, operations research, engineering design, systems engineering, applied mathematics, and statistics.
ISBN: 9781118919330Publication Date: 2015-04-06 -
Flexibility in Engineering Design
by
A guide to using the power of design flexibility to improve the performance of complex technological projects, for designers, managers, users, and analysts. Project teams can improve results by recognizing that the future is inevitably uncertain and that by creating flexible designs they can adapt to eventualities. This approach enables them to take advantage of new opportunities and avoid harmful losses. Designers of complex, long-lasting projects--such as communication networks, power plants, or hospitals--must learn to abandon fixed specifications and narrow forecasts. They need to avoid the "flaw of averages," the conceptual pitfall that traps so many designs in underperformance. Failure to allow for changing circumstances risks leaving significant value untapped. This book is a guide for creating and implementing value-enhancing flexibility in design. It will be an essential resource for all participants in the development and operation of technological systems: designers, managers, financial analysts, investors, regulators, and academics. The book provides a high-level overview of why flexibility in design is needed to deliver significantly increased value. It describes in detail methods to identify, select, and implement useful flexibility. The book is unique in that it explicitly recognizes that future outcomes are uncertain. It thus presents forecasting, analysis, and evaluation tools especially suited to this reality. Appendixes provide expanded explanations of concepts and analytic tools.
ISBN: 9780262016230Publication Date: 2011-08-12 -
The Design of Future Things
by
In The Design of Future Things, best-selling author Donald A. Norman presents a revealing examination of smart technology, from smooth-talking GPS units to cantankerous refrigerators. Exploring the links between design and human psychology, he offers a consumer-oriented theory of natural human-machine interaction that can be put into practice by the engineers and industrial designers of tomorrow's thinking machines. A fascinating look at the perils and promise of the intelligent objects of the future, The Design of Future Things is a must-read for anyone interested in the dawn of a new era in technology.
ISBN: 9780465002283Publication Date: 2009-05-12
LIbrary Databases and Articles
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
-
Design Issues (Journal)Articles about the criticism, history and theory as they relate to the professions of design.
