Embedded Resources by Rebecca Gagne

Database Exploration Activity

Instructions:

1. Form Groups and open Google Doc
   Break into small groups and enter the names of all group members under your assigned group number.

2. Collaborate
   Work together to explore your assigned database. Your goal is to:

   • Answer the related questions below
   • Locate at least one article related to a potential topic of interest or a PICOTT question.

3. Designate a Presenter
   Choose one group member to present your findings to the class.

Group Questions:

1. What type of information is available in this database?
2. What search options or filters can you use to refine your results?
3. Did you encounter any limitations or challenges while searching?
   • Are there any questions you still have about using the database?
4. Are there tools or tutorials available to help you learn more about searching effectively?
5. Paste the permalink or citation for an article you found on a topic of interest:

Which library databases should you use?

How to Start a Search

Step 1: Think about your research topic/question

Step 2: Extract the main keywords/concepts

Step 3: Input each of the words into the search lines. Click 'Search'!

• Example Research Question: How does social media affect mental health?
• Search Terms: Social Media (and) Mental Health 

Bonus Step: Select search limiters (left side of screen)

• Full Text
• Scholarly/Peer Reviewed

Your search page will look similar to the screen below

The American Medical Association (AMA) citation style is a variation of the Vancouver system that is often used in medical and scientific writing and publishing. It's also used by health professionals and when submitting papers to journals published by the AMA.

Citation Style:

Author Last name, First Initial/Middle Initial. Title in sentence case. Abbreviated Journal Title in Title Case. Year; volume(Issue#):PP-PP. doi: ##

Note: If you are citing an online article, you should include the day and month of publication as well in the format of Month Day, Year.

Use sentence case for all titles (capitalize only the first word of the title). Abbreviate and italicize names of journals according to the listing in the National Library of Medicine database.

If you need more in depth guidance on formatting visit the Purdue Owl: AMA Style Guide or Sheridan College Library Guide.

Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?

• If you are an online student, you can go to the online writing center for information about how to contact a writing coach. 
• If you are a PVD campus student you can schedule an appointment with the writing coach through uSucceed. 

If you use the library's databases for your research, you can copy and paste pre-generated citations - look out for the option as it may appear differently in each interface but is generally represented by an icon of quotation marks.

If you need to cite a resource not located in a database, I recommend using the OWL as a reference. You can also reach out to me or JWU Library for help with citations!

The Academic Success Center is open for in-person and remote appointments by zoom.

Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing tutors are kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. Visit the Academic Success Center website for more information.

Top Tips for Working with the Academic Success Center:

1.    Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485  
2.    Visit us live on the first floor of the Yena Center

For 24/7 at no extra charge tutoring support and academic success coaching, log into JWULINK to use tutor.com and schedule a session.

Look for the link in jwuLink, type tutor.com in the search bar.  It will be the first link to come up! Log in to your account with your JWU credentials and then, it will auto-populate with your name and you're ready to go!