Library Resources
Welcome. We are so happy to serve as your library liaisons!
Think of us as your research partners. We can assist you with finding articles, developing a research topic, citing sources...you name it! Visit our homepage to learn more.
To meet with us for specialized research assistance, schedule a research appointment. Looking for private study space? Natural light? Check out our sensory-supportive map or book a study room, featuring enhanced visual and audio privacy.
JWU librarians are available for research appointments in-person, over the phone, and online. We are more than happy to help you!
Looking for immediate research assistance? Chat or Text us!
Search for Articles on the JWU Library Website!
Click the "Articles" tab to get started!
For complex searches, click the "Articles Advanced Search" option!
Input your main keywords on each search line:
Click here for the class activity: Google Doc
Which library databases should you use?
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
-
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Scholarly, government and general-interest content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
-
Newspapers: US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- Search or browse articles in several major US newspapers, including the Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, and the Wall Street Journal.
- Useful for understanding current events, finding company and biographical information, and obtaining general information on a topic
-
Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
-
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
- In-depth reports and analysis on hot topic issues in the news
The Academic Success Center is open for in-person and remote appointments by zoom.
Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing tutors are kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. Visit the Academic Success Center website for more information.
Top Tips for Working with the Academic Success Center:
- Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485
- Visit us live on the first floor of the Yena Center
For 24/7 at no extra charge tutoring support and academic success coaching, log into JWULINK to use tutor.com and schedule a session.
Look for the link in jwuLink, type tutor.com in the search bar. It will be the first link to come up! Log in to your account with your JWU credentials and then, it will auto-populate with your name and you're ready to go!
The JWU library has two style guides:
However, if you need more in depth guidance on formatting go to the Purdue OWL.
Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?
- If you are an online student, you can go to the online writing center for information about how to contact a writing coach.
- If you are a PVD campus student you can schedule an appointment with the writing coach through uSucceed.
If you use the library's databases for your research, you can copy and paste pre-generated citations - look out for the option as it may appear differently in each interface but is generally represented by an icon of quotation marks.
If you need to cite a resource not located in a database, I recommend using the OWL as a reference. You can also reach out to me or JWU Library for help with citations!
