Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Suggested Search Terms
Suggested Search Terms
- Business enterprises
- Home-based businesses
- International business enterprises
- Private companies
- Small business
Company Profiles & Articles
The resources below feature profiles for many companies, public and private, American and global. Several of these also link to articles about industries.
Business Insights: Global (Gale)
Comprehensive business content including case studies, company profiles & industry research reports, country economic reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and video interviews with business executives. (formerly, Business & Company Resource Center)
Business Source Complete
Browse "Company Profiles". When a profile has been selected, click on "Datamonitor Report". Report includes overview, history, products/services, revenue analysis, SWOT analysis and more. Also has articles via home page interface.
General Business File ASAP (Gale)
Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO)
Many full-text articles covering Baking & Culinary Arts, Business Travel, Event Management, Food & Beverage, Gaming & Casinos, Hospitality Law, Hotel Management, Leisure Studies, Market Trends, Meetings, Menu Planning, Restaurants, and more.
Industry research for over 700 U.S. industries plus hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries," including 60 industries in Australia, China, and the UK. Go to "Key Statistics" to find financials and 7 kinds of "Key Ratios." To limit your search to the countries above, use the link "Global Industry Research", then on the next page link to "Search for international industries."
The books listed below provide company profiles. They include directories (by geographic area, industry sectors), rankings and additional information. All are located in the Desk Reference area of the Downcity Library and do not circulate.
Business Rankings Annual
Provides company ranking information for almost 5,000 areas of economic activity. An easy-to-use resource for locating a company's ranking within an industry.
Directory of High Volume Independent Restaurants
Profiles over 5,000 independent U.S. restaurants. Includes information on wholesalers, menu type, check amount. Best print source of its kind. Excellent resource for researchers, sales personnel, job seekers.
Rhode Island Business Directory
Provides basic information for 52,000 R.I. companies. Indexed by city, "yellow page category", major employer/public company. Best print resource for locating quick information on R.I. companies of all kinds.
Rhode Island Manufacturers Register
Brief company profiles for over 2,400 R.I. manufacturers. Indexed alphabetically, geographically, by parent company. Useful for the type of companies it covers.
From "Wokring Mother Magazine". "Working Mothers List" includes "Best Companies for Hourly Workers", "Best Companies for Multicultural Women", "Best Companies for Women's Advancement".
Company rankings in several categories.
Company Research Links
Annual Report Service
From the "Public Register". "Provides free annual reports of public companies trading on the NYSE, NASDAQ, AMEX, OTC and TSX exchanges".
The links below will be useful to you in conducting company research. They include research guides, annual reports, company filings, corporate governance, directories, financial information (EDGAR).
"Provides instant access to annual reports in their actual format in one single location". Searchable by company name, ticker symbol, exchange, industry, sector. Great resource for locating annual reports quickly,
"Works to advance a more efficient and responsive philanthropic marketplace by evaluating the financial health of over 5,400 of America's largest charities".
Gathers and distributes data on thousands of nonprofit and charitable organizatons. Reqistration required (but it's free). Includes a tutorial. Great resource.