What's On This Page?
On this page, find resources covering global and local issues, including food security, organic and local food movements, and GMOs.
Find Info on Controversial Topics
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale)Support your point of view on a controversial issue with facts and statistics from primary and government documents, photos, and magazine & newspaper articles which have already argued your case.
Check out the topics in the "Society & Culture" section of this database. Topics of interest include "Agriculture Industry", "Globalization", "The Local Food Movement", and "Recycling".
eBook
Find great info in Chapter 4, "Controversies: Agriculture". You can also search within this book for specific words.
Politics of the Plate Blog
Check out this blog by James Beard Award winner Barry Estabrook who investigates issues within the food industry. Also, read his James Beard Award winning article "Politics of the Plate: The Price of Tomatoes".
Videos @ Cooking Up a Story
Cooking up a Story is "a show about people, food, and sustainable living". Find over 100 videos with experts sharing their views on sustainable food issues.
News @ Cooking up a Story
Featuring info, expert interviews, and videos about food and sustainability issues.
The Edible Schoolyard
Check out a gardening/cooking program that Alice Waters established through the Chez Panisse Foundation.
Find Culinary Articles
- Culinary Arts (Gale)Many full-text articles from major cooking and nutrition magazines, plus recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry trends & news.
When searching these databases, be sure to select "full-text" in order to view an article on the screen. Also select "peer-reviewed" for scholarly articles.
- Food Science Source (EBSCO)Many full-text articles from magazines and trade journals covering the food industry: Food Safety, Food & Beverage Science, Food Service, Processing, Packaging, Shipping, Culinary Innovation, and Product Development.
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO)Many full-text articles covering Baking & Culinary Arts, Business Travel, Event Management, Food & Beverage, Gaming & Casinos, Hospitality Law, Hotel Management, Leisure Studies, Market Trends, Meetings, Menu Planning, Restaurants, and more.
Find Science Information
- GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) (Gale)Many full-text articles plus streaming videos on important aspects of environmental issues: economic, political, legal, and the human impact on the environment.
- GreenFILE (EBSCO)Full-text articles from these three journals (BMC Ecology; Environmental Health Perspectives; and Environmental Health: A Global Access Science Source). Indexing only to journals in JWU’s other EBSCO databases.
Find Newspaper Articles
- LexisNexis AcademicFull-text access to international newspapers, SEC filings (annual reports), legal information (federal and state laws), company profiles, and brief biographies of people around the world. TO FIND HOOVER'S COMPANY RECORDS: Within the "Get Company Info" box, click on the link "Company Profiles," then on the next page under "Select Source(s)" check off Hoover's.
Read articles from newspapers around the world. LexisNexis also provides legal/court case info and company profiles.
Organic on the Web
- Organic Consumers Association: Organic Resource CenterLearn about sustainability issues from this public interest organization "campaigning for health, justice, and sustainability, peace and democracy".
- USDA National Organic ProgramLearn about federal regulations pertaining to organic products. Find helpful background info in the "Consumers" section.
Local Food on the Web
- Edible CommunitiesRead articles celebrating local foods from Edible Communities magazines around the country. Check out the "Explore" section for its blog, recipes, and links to other resources. Listen to podcasts from Edible Radio featuring interviews, issue discussions, and more.
- Edible RhodyCheck out the online site of this magazine celebrating local food and food traditions. Find a list of links to other helpful sustainable agriculture and local food sites. (Harborside Library has this magazine, as well as Edible Boston and Edible Cape Cod.)
- Farm Fresh Rhode IslandLearn about the local food system in RI. Find links to local producers, suppliers, and restaurants.
- Know Your Farmer, Know Your FoodThis USDA initiative seeks to provide a better understanding of local food production. Learn about what people are doing around the country and what resources and programs are available for promoting a sustainable food system.
- Local HarvestLearn about local food systems throughtout the country.
- FoodPrintFind overviews on food-related issues in "The Issues" section of this site which advocates for local food. Includes citations and links to other resources.
Edible Stories Blog
Check out what's new at this local foods publication:
Slow Food Movement on the Web
Children & Food Sustainability on the Web
Learn how different organizations are involving children in sustainability activities.
- Baum ForumFind info, presentations, and resource links at the website of this conference, "held periodically to focus public and restaurant industry attention on food and agricultural issues". Many themes focus on children, including 2006's conference "Schools & Food: Innovation, Opportunity and Wellness".
- Center for Ecoliteracy - Rethinking School LunchFind info and related resources for incorporating food sustainabilty programs into the school environment.
- Chef Ann Cooper, Renegade Lunch LadyFind out how Chef Cooper is looking to "transform cafeterias into culinary classrooms for students — one school lunch at a time".
- Kids FirstKids First is a RI public-private partnership providing programs and events that address the health and nutritional needs of school kids. Learn about its activities and find related resources at this site.
