Taxation: Where to Begin

Comprehensive business content including case studies, company profiles & industry research reports, country economic reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and video interviews with business executives. (formerly, Business & Company Resource Center)

Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.

Industry research for over 700 U.S. industries plus hard-to-find U.S. "specialized industries," including 60 industries in Australia, China, and the UK. Go to "Key Statistics" to find financials and 7 kinds of "Key Ratios." To limit your search to the countries above, use the link "Global Industry Research", then on the next page link to "Search for international industries."

Provides company profiles and full-text articles on thousands of companies, public and private. Also includes industry profiles.

Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.

Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.

Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.

Full-text articles from over 6,000 newspapers/magazines, national and international. Updated daily. Includes company profiles.

Statistics, market studies & reports for over 600 international industries, 37 countries, and 60,000 wide-ranging topics! Enter your own search terms or browse data reports listed under these links: Categories, Key Topics, Popular Statistics, and Recent Statistics. A sampling includes college enrollment with projections up to 2020 in the U.S., college payment (how U.S. families pay for college), college sports, debit cards, demographics (size & characteristics of a population), employment outlook, food & beverage, footwear & apparel, global climate change, hospital costs, hospitality (conventions, conferences, dining & accommodations), immigration, mobile Internet & apps, nutrition, online shopping, personal debt, smartphones, social media, travel & tourism (cruise industry), video gaming, wages & salaries. NOTE: Click through any security certificate warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear in order to proceed to the Statista website and display all content.

"A coalition of patient groups, physicians, researchers, educational institutions, publishers and health promotion organizations that support barrier-free access to taxpayer funded research". This advocacy organization supports efforts to make the results of publicly funded research available on the Internet at no cost.

"CTJ's mission is to give ordinary people a greater voice in the development of tax law". "Fights for fair taxes for middle and low-income families, requiring the wealthy to pay their fair share, closing corporate tax loopholes, adequately funding important government services, reducing the federal debt". Provides excellent reports on many aspects of state/federal taxes

"A nonprofit, non-partisan citizen group whose members work every day for lower taxes and small government at all levels". "Rates Congress" rates each state's members of Congress votes on taxes, spending, debt and regulatory issues. "News & Issues" analyzes and monitors on specific areas of federal spending.

From the Cato Institute. "Examines federal, state and local spending and tax issues from a limited government perspective". Research topics covered include corporate welfare, federal budget policy, international tax competition, U.S. tax policy, state/local fiscal policies.

Celebrating its 75th anniversary, the TF is a "nonpartisan tax research group based in Washington, D.C." Researches tax issues on the federal, state and local levels; utilizes special reports, backgroud papers and more. Articles are archived from 1940 to the present. Oustanding; provides clear-cut analysis for what is often a confusing topic.

"A joint venture of the Urban Institute and Brooking Institution". "Tax Topics" provides analysis of over 25 tax topics, many of which impact familes/households. Publishes numerous position papers on tax issues. Includes TAXVOX (blog). Updated frequently. Outstanding; one of the best sites for comprehensive information on all aspects of taxation in the U.S.

From HowStuffWorks. Short but informative analysis of the "difference between estate taxes and inheritance taxes", "inheritance tax exemptions", "inheritance tax rates" and more.

From Ryan and Company, Inc. Links to each state's tax-related sites; may include all or some of the following: state tax/revenue agency, state/general treasurer, unclaimed property office, additional relevant sites. "Topics" link to sites for associations/research, e-commerce tax, excise/fuel taxes, payroll tax, property tax. Quick access to a state's tax/revenue agencies. Also links to federal tax resources. "Topics" useful, especially for comparison purposes. Outstanding.

A directory of 54 topics for taxation, accounting and payroll/HR. "Designed to be a starting point for people who are searching for tax and accounting information, products, services". Links to hundreds of sites for professional associations/organizations, government agencies, news, commercial sites and more. Outstanding; this is of the best comprehensive sites for tax/accouting links; easy-to-navigate.

From the "Government Information" page from Vanderbilt's Heard Library. Links to over 60 resources for government sites, indexes/directories, interest-group/political sites, research centers/educational sites, statistics. Includes resources for the income tax, international taxation. Outstanding resource for researching all aspects of taxation in America.

Maintained by Alan G. Kalman. A cornucopia of links to over 220 topics for almost every conceivable tax deducation (include hard-to-find topics like cafeteria plans, lottery winnings, spousal liability). Many links to articles written by professionals; includes commercial sites. Outstanding; one of the best sites for accessing tax information by topic; comprehensive and easy-to-navigate.

From Statista

Claims to be "The first comprehensive U.S. Tax Directory on the Internet". Links to IRS information (forms, tax tables/schedules and more). Includes "Master Index of Tax Topics" (many practical sites). Outstanding; another great site for links to official tax information and analysis of numerous tax issues/topics.

"Key Data on World Taxes, Income Tax Rates, Tax Rate Comparison Table, Business & Finance Worldwide". Excellent links to world taxes and more.

Support your point of view on a controversial issue with facts and statistics from primary and government documents, photos, and magazine & newspaper articles which have already argued your case.