Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
This is the homepage for the IRS. It links directly to federal tax information for individuals, businesses, tax professionals, government entities, charities/nonprofits and the retirement plans community. Also provides online tax forms/publications and information on resolving tax issues.
Listed below is the direct link to the agency and links to additional IRS resources.
Articles & Databases
The resources below will assist you in researching taxation and related fields. You can obtain full-text articles which are constantly updated.
Business Insights: Global
Provides company profiles and full-text articles on thousands of companies, public and private. Also includes industry profiles.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
Emerald Management 120
Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
General Business File ASAP (Gale)
Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
Other Useful Sites
How Federal Taxes Work
From HowStuffWorks. Concise but informative analysis of federal taxes. Includes a history of federal taxes, personal income tax brackets, taxable personal income, business income taxes and more.
How Income Taxes Work
From HowStuffWorks. Examines the history of the income tax in America; also discusses the tax process, filing information and "alternative" taxes (flat tax, national sales tax. Excellent; short, clearly-written analysis of the backgroud and "basics" of the U.S. income tax.
From the Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC), affiliated with Syracuse University. Offers an in-depth analysis of the IRS, including "Latest Figures", "Graphical Highlights", "District Enforcement" and more. Outstanding; one of the best sources for analysis of all facets of IRS operations/activities currently available.