Financial Literacy: Personal Finance

Over 15,000 streaming videos 24/7. Many areas of interest including business & economics, careers & job searching, computers & technology, criminal justice, culinary arts & nutrition, digital media, education, engineering, English, fashion/textiles & merchandising, food prep & safety, food science & service, guidance & counseling, health, science & social sciences. Watch Archival Films & Newsreels for important events and interviews with influential people in American culture & history.

Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.

Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.

Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.

Full-text articles from over 6,000 newspapers/magazines, national and international. Updated daily. Includes company profiles.

Support your point of view on a controversial issue with facts and statistics from primary and government documents, photos, and magazine & newspaper articles which have already argued your case.

Statistics, market studies & reports for over 600 international industries, 37 countries, and 60,000 wide-ranging topics! Enter your own search terms or browse data reports listed under these links: Categories, Key Topics, Popular Statistics, and Recent Statistics. A sampling includes college enrollment with projections up to 2020 in the U.S., college payment (how U.S. families pay for college), college sports, debit cards, demographics (size & characteristics of a population), employment outlook, food & beverage, footwear & apparel, global climate change, hospital costs, hospitality (conventions, conferences, dining & accommodations), immigration, mobile Internet & apps, nutrition, online shopping, personal debt, smartphones, social media, travel & tourism (cruise industry), video gaming, wages & salaries. NOTE: Click through any security certificate warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear in order to proceed to the Statista website and display all content.

From Nolo.com. Links to personal finance advice from 14 of the most reliable sources for business/consumer advice, including government resources, newspaper financial pages, finance sites, consumer sites. A great place to begin research.

From About.com. Covers a variety of personal finance issues in language for the layman. Includes many "related articles" and "suggested readings". Geared to practical advice and information.

From Consumer Reports.org. Provides advice on banking, credit, insurance, student debt and more. From one of the most respected sources on consumer issues of all kind. Links to products/services rating/evaluation and other consumer-oriented organizations.

NCLC is "a nonprofit advocacy organization that seeks to build economic security and family wealth for low-income and other economically disadvantaged Americans". NCLC advocates for "Advancing Fairness in the Marketplace for All". Although its focus concentrates on Americans with lower incomes, this organization provides much useful advice for anyone evaluating personal finance.

From HowStuffWorks. Brief, handy guide to the following "personal finance" issues: auto insurance, banking/ATMs, budgeting/saving, credit/debt management, online banking, retirement planning and more.

"Financial Literacy for Everyone"

From the American Red Cross (ARC). This sub-page of the ARC's "Disaster Recovery" page provides information for dealing with insurance claims, cash flow, bills, debts, and a checklist for replacing 14 types of "vital documents" lost in a disaster.

From the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. Features educational information for the following: mortgage foreclosure resources, credit reports, credit scores, credit card repayment calculator, additional Federal Reserve consumer help.

From the Federal Trade Commission FTC). Discusses 15 debt collection practices as outlined in the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA). Defines "debt collectors" as "collection agencies, lawyers who collect debts on a regular basis, and companies that buy delinquent debts and then try to collect them".

From the Financial Literacy & Education Commission, comprised of 21 Federal agencies and programs. Includes a hotline, 1-888-MyMoney. "Life Events" provides information/resources for the birth/adoption of a child, college, home ownership, marriage/divorce/partners, natural disasters/unexpected events. "My Resources" provides information/resources for specific population groups: "Youth", "Teachers", "Parents/Caregivers", "Women", "Employers", "Military", and more.

From Nolo.com. Offers practical advice and procedures for dealing with a variety of job loss scenarios: "Collecting Unemployment Benefits", "Wrongful Termination", Final Paychecks, Benefits & More", "Layoffs" and more. Each of the above topics offers practical FAQs for dealing with specific situations. Like all Nolo sites, this is practical and presented in language for the layperson.

From the U.S. Department of Labor. Links to resources about "Unemployment Insurance (UI) programs [that] provide unemployment benefits to eligible workers who become unemployed through no fault of their own, and meet certain other eligibility requirements". Includes information about how to determne eligibility and filing claims. Links to state unemployment offices and to other resources, such as disaster unemployment assistance, unemploymement compensation for ex-service members, extended benefits and more. Best official federal resource for information on unemployment.

From AARP. Provides information/links/procedures for several personal areas impacted by or related to job loss: health insurance, disability, financial resources (public benefits/unemployment benefits/SSI) and AARP resources for finding another job. Practical and useful information from America's foremost advocacy group for retired Americans and those over age 50.

From the Department of Housing & Urban Development (HUD).

From the Federal Reserve System.

From USA.gov. This federal site links to 20 specific resources from the Department of Labor, IRS and Social Security Administration to help users deal with and plan for retirement.

From the AARP. Articles, advice, calculators and more.

From the Employee Benefits Security Administration (EBSA), US Department of Labor. "Information for employees, small businesses, and employers about saving for retirement and the tools to get started".

From the U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration. Well-written guide for step-by-step research process for retirement planning. Includes interactive worksheets. "Getting Help" links to other free resources. Highly recommended.

From the Retirement Living Information Center. Each state's total taxes are profiled with commentary when necessary. Total state taxes vary from state to state. Also provides topical information for the following types of taxes: sales, fuel, cigarette, personal income, federal income, medical/dental, retirement income, retirement income for military retirees, inheritance/estate. Outstanding; the best place to go for those contemplating retirement.

From the Employee Benefits Security Administration EBSA), US Department of Labor. Another practical resource from the EBSA. Links to related federal agencies and NGO websites for additional information. Also available in Spanish.

From the U.S. Department of Labor. Discusses types of retirement plans: earnings, benefits, impact of plan termination or company merger, ramifications of divorce, dealing with problems and more. Excellent discussion of the basics of retirement plans.