Suggested Search Terms
Suggested Search Terms
- Angels (Investors)
- Bankruptcy
- Budget in business
- Business enterprises - Finance
- Business losses
- Cash flow
- Cash management
- Commercial loans
- Controllership
- Corporations - Accounting
- Corporations - Finance
- Corporations - Taxation
- Corporations - Valuation
- Corporate profits
- Corporate debt
- Credit
- Default (Finance)
- Income
- Insurance
- Lease or buy decision
- Loans
- Long-term business financing
- Profit
- Self-financing
- Venture capital
Business Finance Videos
- Films on Demand Complete (Infobase)Over 15,000 streaming videos 24/7. Many areas of interest including business & economics, careers & job searching, computers & technology, criminal justice, culinary arts & nutrition, digital media, education, engineering, English, fashion/textiles & merchandising, food prep & safety, food science & service, guidance & counseling, health, science & social sciences. Watch Archival Films & Newsreels for important events and interviews with influential people in American culture & history.
View over 20 videos dealing with various aspects of financing a business. Click on the link below. Then click on the "Business & Economics" section, then "Finance, Accounting and Taxation", then "Corporate Finance". Also searchable.
Recommended Books
Preparing a BudgetCall Number: HG4028 .B8 P727 2009Available at Downcity Library.
Wealth Creation: A Systems Mindset for Building and Investing in Businesses for the Long TermPublication Date: 2010E-book.- Venture Capital ValuationPublication Date: http://helin.uri.edu/search/t?SEARCH=venture+capital+valuation&sortdropdown=-&searchscope=3
Articles & Databases
The resources below will assist you in researching many aspects of business finance and related fields. You can obtain full-text articles which are constantly updated.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
- Emerald Management 120Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
- General Business File ASAP (Gale)Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
- LexisNexisFull-text articles from over 6,000 newspapers/magazines, national and international. Updated daily. Includes company profiles.
Other Useful Resources
- Business FinancingFrom Buzzle.com. Practical information about different aspects of financing a business.
- FinanceFrom the National SBDC Information Center Clearinghouse. Provides practical advice for a variety of business finance-related issues: buying/selling a business, sources of capital, grants, insurance and more. One of the best sites of its kind.
- Financing: Where to Find ItFrom Inc.com. Links to the following resouces for financing a business: angel investors, venture capital, government programs, private equity financing, bank loans, microloans, strategic partners, direct public offers. Practical information from one of the best magazines for entrepreneurs.
- Getting Financing for Your BusinessFrom the Business Owner's Toolkit. Discusses equity financing, debt financing, government assistance. Excellent; thorough and user-friendly.
- How to Do a Breakeven AnalysisFrom About.com. Discusses how to determine the "breakeven" point for a business, a vital factor in determining pricing. Also includes "Suggested Readings", "Related Articles".
- Managing Your Business FinanceFrom the Business Owner's Toolkit. Discusses the basics of business finance, including credit/collections, bookkeeping, cash flow, major purchases/projects and more. Excellent; thorough and user-friendly.
- Startup Business FinancingFrom The Balance. Concise but useful discussion of various types of financing for startups.
Venture Capital
- 2013 Global Trends in Venture Capital SurveyFrom Deloite. Annual survey.
- Knowledge at Wharton: Finance & AccountingFrom Wharton School of Business at UPenn. Publishes frequent articles on topics of interest in finance.
- How Does Venture Capital Work?From Howstuffworks. Brief but incisive article.
- Money Tree Report - PwCQuarterly study of venture capital investment activity in the United States. Sponsored by Pricewaterhouse Cooper / National Venture Capital Association.
- National Venture Capital Association (NVCA)
- The Venture Capital & Private Equity Country Attractiveness IndexFrom the IESE Business School. The 2023 index ranks 125 countries on their investment potential for venture capital/private equity. Each country is rated on the following: economic activity, capital market, taxation, investor protection/corporate governance, human/social environment, entrepreneurial opportunity. Ratings are available for 2010 to the present. Note that the homepage currently displays the 2021 index, but the 2023 report is available by clicking "download."
- Entrepreneur: Venture CapitalFrom Entrepreneur.com. A hub for venture capital articles and information.
