Suggested Search Terms
Suggested Search Terms
- Brokers
- Commodity exchanges
- Derivative securities
- Exchange traded funds
- Financial futures
- Financial planners
- Financial services industry
- Futures
- Going public (Securities)
- Hedge funds
- Investment analysis
- Investment banking
- Investments
- Investments, Foreign
- Junk bonds
- Mutual funds
- Options (Finance)
- Ponzi schemes
- Portfolio management
- Put and call transactions
- Securities
- Securities fraud
- Securities industry
- Speculation
- Stock exchanges
- Stock holders
- Stock index futures
- Stock market
- Stocks
Investment Videos
- Films on Demand Complete (Infobase)Over 15,000 streaming videos 24/7. Many areas of interest including business & economics, careers & job searching, computers & technology, criminal justice, culinary arts & nutrition, digital media, education, engineering, English, fashion/textiles & merchandising, food prep & safety, food science & service, guidance & counseling, health, science & social sciences. Watch Archival Films & Newsreels for important events and interviews with influential people in American culture & history.
View over 20 videos dealing with various aspects of investing. Click on the lilnk below. Then click on the "Business & Economics" section, then "Finance, Accounting and Taxation", then "Investments. Also searchable.
Recommended Books
Articles & Databases
- Business Insights: Global (Gale)Comprehensive business content including case studies, company profiles & industry research reports, country economic reports, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and video interviews with business executives. (formerly, Business & Company Resource Center)
The resources below will assist you in researching investments and related issues. You can obtain full-text articles which are constantly updated.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)Company profiles, SWOT analyses (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) where available, industry profiles, stocks & investment info., management-related articles, Harvard Business Review case studies and streaming videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series.
- Emerald Management 120Management-related articles in various fields including Accounting, Education, Food Science, Hospitality & Tourism, Library Services & Information Management, Marketing, Nutrition, and Professional Development. CHECK-OFF "Only content I have access to" for full-text articles and book chapters.
- General Business File ASAP (Gale)Selective, full-text business and management-related articles. This is a subset of the larger database Business & Company Resource Center.
- LexisNexisFull-text articles from over 6,000 newspapers/magazines, national and international. Updated daily. Includes company profiles.
- MorningstarFinancial information on thousands of stocks traded on the major exchanges, plus mutual funds and ETFs (exchange-traded funds). Streaming videos feature how-to investment advice (see Articles & Videos tab). Portfolio-planning tools include online calculators to determine how much you need to save for retirement and college costs. NOTE: Only a limited number of people can access Morningstar at the same time. PLEASE CLICK ON THE BUTTON "End Session."
- Wall Street Journal; Eastern EditionSelective, full-text newspaper articles from 1984 to the present are available from the world's leading financial newspaper. Content covers companies, stock prices, people, and products. Images are not available.
Journals
These online journals will be useful in researching many aspects of investing.
General Resources
- Bloomberg.comOne of the best sources for national and international financial/investment news and analysis. Includes updates on bonds, stocks, commodities, funds, currencies , personal finance and more. For best use, navigate using the Sitemap.
- Finance - WebsitesFrom the Krupp Library, Bryant University. Links to finance/investment sites for the following: associations & government sites, exchange & interest rates, bonds, market news, commodities/futures/options, mutual funds, stocks. Brief annotations accompany each link. Excellent assortment of many of the most useful investment-related sites.
- InvestorGuideOne of the most extensive finance/investment sites. Links to resources for investing, personal finance, stock quotes, a glossary, news on U.S. and world markets, general business. Great place for up-to-date information for investments and related topics.
- MarketWatch.comThis comprehensive guide covers all aspects of financial/investment news and trends, For both the U.S. and the world. Includes stocks, mutual funds, commodities, bonds, options, currency, personal finance and more.. For best use, navigate using the Site Index.
Investments Terms
- Barkley's Comprehensive Financial GlossaryFrom Oasis Management. Online since 1998, this glossary is browsable.
- Trading GlossaryFrom the Highlights Investment Group. This comprehensive glossary provides definitions for hundreds of terms used in the investment industry.
Regulatory Agencies in the U.S.
- Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)Establish in 1933, the FDIC is an "independent agency created by Congress to maintain stability and public confidence in the in the nation's financial system by: insuring deposits, examining and supervising financial institutions for safety and soundness and consumer protection and managing receiverships". "Each depositor insured to al least $250,000 per insured bank". Includes information on deposit insurance, consumer protection, industry analysis and regulations/examinations. For over three-quarters of a century has help stabilize and regulate the nation's banking.
- Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA)This non-governmental organization "is the largest independent regulator for all securities firms doing business in the United States". Oversees almost 4,380 brokerage firms, 163,150 branch offices and 633,000 registered securities representatives. "Investors" tab provides consumer information and tools for various investment products/procedures. Also resolves disputes between and among investors, brokerage firms and individual brokers.
- U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC)This independent agency, created by Congress in 1974, has a "mandate to regulate commodity futures and option markets in the United States". The futures market, once primarily for agricultural commodities, currently includes "a vast array of highly complex financial futures contracts". CFTC serves as a watchdog agency to stop "fraud, manipulation, abusive practices and systemic risk" in the commodities market.
- U.S. Securities & Exchange Committion (SEC)Established in 1934, the SEC's mission is " to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets and to facilitate capital formation". "Requires public companies to disclose meaningful financial and other information to the public". Public companies must file financial information with the SEC.
Socially Responsible Investing (SRI)
- Social FundsBilling itself as "the largest personal finance site devoted to socially reponsible investing", Social Funds "features over 10,000 pages of information on SRI mutual funds, community investments, corporate research, shareholder actions, and daily social investment news". Users can use the "SRI Fund Finder" to access information to several hundred fund profiles include general fund information/description, "social issues", fund performance and more. Excellent for conducting research on funds dedicated to SRI (socially responsible investing".
- Social InvestingFrom Green America. Explains the fundamentals of social investing and explains ways for people to be actively involved in being a socially responsible investor.
- Sustainable InvestingFrom About.com. Offers a general overview of SRI; also includes SRI articles/links for company information, shareholders, mutual funds, investor concerns and more. Like all About.com pages, this page is practical and should be a useful place to begin research.
