LibGuides: Embedded Resources: SNC: LIT 2050

LIT 2050

Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for LIT 2050.

I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Seriously. I got you!

The library is now hosting online research appointments: click here to book an appointment.

Sarah Naomi Campbell| scampbell@jwu.edu | 401-598-5019

Did you know you can also chat or text with a librarian? It's anonymous, free, and super fast! Simply click the Ask a Librarian button below, or look for it on our home page!

chat loading...

If you need help, reach out for an online research appointment. We are here for you!

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
ACCESS URL: https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h
Communication Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Many full-text articles focused on communication, including Media & Communication Studies, Communication Theory, Linguistics, Organizational Communication, and Speech-Language Pathology
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
ACCESS URL: https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=cms
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Non-fiction ebooks on a wide range of academic subjects; includes some major literary works
ACCESS URL: https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=e000xna
JSTOR Arts & Sciences XI Collection This link opens in a new window
- For access to content that JWU subscribes to, please select "Advanced Search" from JSTOR's homepage, then select "Content I can access" from the "Select an access type" drop down menu
- Features a diverse group of humanities, language and literature, rhetoric and composition journals from 15 countries
- Millions of high-quality primary sources and images from around the world, including artworks, maps, photographs, and more
Access URL: https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles from 1999-TO THE CURRENT YEAR
- Content covers fields such as Administration & Leadership, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice, Cultures, Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science, Hospitality, Information Science, Literature, Marketing, Sports, Travel & Tourism
ACCESS URL: https://jwupvdz.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://journals.sagepub.com/
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- Great for an in-depth look into your topic
- Borrow ebooks for up to 21 days
- Download chapters to any device
- Limited printing options
ACCESS URL: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/jwu

Online Writing Help

Both student and professional writing coaches are available to help you at any stage of the writing process, from coming up with an outline to proofreading a polished draft.

Schedule an appointment with uSucceed

You can also submit essays online, via Smarthinking: 24 hours a day, 7 days a week online writing support.

Log into JWULink, click Academics tab, and choose Smarthinking on the right hand side, under Academic Support Services.

From there, choose Submit My Writing, and then Essay Center.

MLA Basics

In-text Citations: (Author's last name and the page number). Period after the in-text citation.
- Example: “There is a significant relationship between auditors’ assessments of the relevance and reliability of reported information and their attitudes to creative accounting” (Ionescu 161).
- Need more help? Click here!
General paper format:
- Times New Roman
- 1-inch margins
- double spaced
- indent each new paragraph
- Need more help? Click here!
Works Cited page:
- last page
- double spaced
- citations listed in alphabetical order
- hanging indents
- appropriate citation format for each source type (i.e. book vs. article)
- Need more help? Click here!
How to Cite an Interview!