ENG 1021 30236
Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for ENG 1021.
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Seriously. I got you!
The library is now hosting online research appointments: click here to book an appointment We're here for you!
Sarah Naomi Campbell| scampbell@jwu.edu | 401-598-5019
Did you know you can also chat or text with a librarian? It's anonymous, free, and super fast! Simply click the Ask a Librarian button below, or look for it on our home page!
Let's explore these databases!
Each group will be assigned one database to explore
and will share their findings with the class at the end of the activity in this padlet:
Thursday class: https://padlet.com/snappyfilms/p09n3yhm5qu4
- Group 1: Statista
- Group 2: Academic Search Complete
- Group 3: CQ Researcher
- Group 4: Opposing Viewpoints
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- Support your point of view on a controversial issue with facts and statistics from primary and government documents, photos, magazine and newspaper articles which have already argued your case
- Explore opposing sides of the most important issues helps to develop information literacy and critical thinking skills
- Statista This link opens in a new window
- Statistics, reports, and visual data for a range of topics, countries, industries, trending topics, and more
- NOTE: Click through any security warnings & pop-up blockers that may appear
- Expert tools options are unavailable
- CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
- In-depth reports and analysis on hot topic issues in the news
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
- Provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources such as newsletters and speeches, as well as LGBTQ+ magazines, regional newspapers and case studies
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
Worried about MLA? Don't be! Here's a link to a Sample Paper in MLA that will help walk you through.
MLA Basics
- In-text Citations: (Author's last name and the page number). Period after the in-text citation.
- Example: “There is a significant relationship between auditors’ assessments of the relevance and reliability of reported information and their attitudes to creative accounting” (Ionescu 161).
- Need more help? Click here!
- General paper format:
- Times New Roman
- 1-inch margins
- double spaced
- indent each new paragraph
- Need more help? Click here!
- Works Cited page:
- last page
- double spaced
- citations listed in alphabetical order
- hanging indents
- appropriate citation format for each source type (i.e. book vs. article)
- Need more help? Click here!
- How to Cite an Interview!
Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?
1. Save time - look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.
2. Scroll to the style you need (MLA, APA)
3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper
Ta Da! You're done! Well, almost. Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Make an Online Research Appointment! Use the OWL! It's super easy, and totally simple.
