Embedded Resources: SNC

Google Doc

MCST4010, Global Media Project                                                                                                                     Dr. Westgate

• For all of the following options, cite a minimum of five scholarly/academic sources, not including any interviews, organizational profiles, trade, or popular news sources

• Beyond your five academic sources—defined here as journal articles and scholarly books—you may also wish to include research from government organizations, NGOs, andinternational regulatory agencies (UN, UNESCO, OECD, WTO, etc.),

•  Be sure to include a complete works cited and cite all sources parenthetically in either MLA, APA, or Chicago style.

• For the draft, you may submit a working paper, a bulleted list or outline, a rough sketch, etc. A project draft is due on 10/13 and the final project is due on 11/24.

• For any of the following options, you may choose to create a video, a short film, a documentary, a podcast, a

  PowerPoint, a photographic essay, a news narrative, a short essay, a short work of fiction, or a scholarly paper. The

  overall length is 5-7 minutes or pages.

  Be sure to include at least one article from one of the following sources: Global Media & Communication; Global Media Journal; International Journal of Communication; International Journal of Cultural Studies; Critical Studies in Media Communication; Media, Culture & Society; Communication/Critical Cultural Studies; New Media & Society; Communication, Culture & Critique; or the Journal of Communication.

Choose one of the following options:

Option 1: Global Media Project: Provide detailed information about media in any country outside of the United States. Discuss the historical development of media in that country, the contemporary media landscape, the structure of a media industry, an example of content, or media usage. Possible media include print, news, television, film, music, gaming, advertising, sports, etc. Choose only one form of media. Comment critically on what you observe: what are the implications of your research, and what do you think about what you learned?

Option 2: Comparative Global Media Project: Compare a media industry (e.g. Hollywood and Bollywood), a media text (e.g. The Light Between Oceans in Spanish and English), or a media audience (e.g. U.S. television viewers and Dutch television viewers). Discuss the industry, text, or audience in a comparative way, highlighting the ways in which it has been portrayed in at least two countries. Choose only one form of media. Comment critically on what you observe: what are the implications of your research, and what do you think about what you learned?

Option 3: Comparative Global Media Levels Project: Compare a media industry, text, or audience within or between various levels; for example, research local U.S. radio and local French radio, local Iranian film and transnational Iranian film, or regional Turkish and global Finnish news. What are some of the similarities and differences that you observe within or between geo-cultural, geo-linguistic or geopolitical levels? Discuss your analysis with reference to theories about local, regional, national, transnational, or global media. Comment critically on what you observe: what are the implications of your research, and what do you think about what you learned?

Option 4: Global Media Issue Project: Choose a major issue such as poverty, climate change, terrorism, inequality (racial/ethnic/gender/sexual/political/religious/socioeconomic, etc.) and discuss the issue in a particular geographic context (e.g. the U.S. and the Middle East, Israel and Palestine, the Caribbean, etc.). How have global media affected and reflected this issue through a particular lens? What is the relationship between this issue and global media? Comment critically on what you observe: what are the implications of your research, and what do you think about what you learned?

Option 5: Globalization in Providence Project (Participant Observation/Interviews): Describe a globalization process in Providence. Pick two different research sites from which to participate, observe, and interview. A research site could include a neighborhood (e.g. Olneyville), a street corner, a restaurant, a bookstore, a public building, a public performance, etc. Your dorm room or apartment does not count. You are looking for intersections of the global, the national, the regional, and the local. Think about how global processes manifest in local forms in Providence. Identify, describe, and analyze at least three examples (at least one example from each of your two research sites) of globalization in action. Think about differences in religion, similarities in audience activity or passivity, customs or traditions, and any of the other theories that we discussed this term. Spend at least two hours at each site making observations or talking with people. Take copious notes and attach them to the project. Comment on what you observe: what are the implications of your research?

Need help? Reach out for a Research Appointment with a librarian.

International Journal of Communication

International Journal of Cultural Studies

Journal of American Culture

Critical Studies in Media Communication (18 month delay)

Media, Culture & Society;

Communication/Critical Cultural Studies; (18 month delay)

New Media & Society;

Communication, Culture & Critique;

Journal of Communication. (12 month delay)

The Academic Success Center is open for in-person and remote appointments by zoom.

Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, writing tutors are kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process. Visit the Academic Success Center website for more information.

Top Tips for Working with the Academic Success Center:

1.    Book an appointment by phone: 401-598-1485  
2.    Book an appointment online via USucceed: In jwulink, under Tools,.click Academics tab, Usucceed- Look for "My Success Network" Academic Success Network
3. Visit us live on the first floor of the Yena Center

For 24/7 free online revision feedback, submit your paper to Smarthinking. Look for the link in jwuLink, under the Academics tab, under Academic Support Services.

Why use Google Scholar?

Librarians use Google Scholar frequently, but it is not a replacement for the library databases. 

We recommend using Google Scholar to supplement your JWU Library database searches, not replace them.

Benefits of Google Scholar

• Cited by search results
• Quick link to full text when you search for an article title
• Links directly to Google Books
• Ranks relevance differently than the library databases
• Searches the full text for your keywords
• Sometimes finds free full text for items not in the library
• Comprehensive searching of scholarly literature beyond JWU Library for capstone literature review research

Drawbacks of Google Scholar

• No Peer-Reviewed Limit
• No Full-Text Limit
• Difficult to do more complex searches

Relying on Google Scholar alone will cause you to miss important research, and spend a lot of time verifying if an article is peer reviewed. But, it is still a great tool for comprehensive searching!

Search tips for Google Scholar

Google Scholar is very similar to Google; you can use many of the same search options.

• Google Scholar automatically places AND between words:

communication class celebrity

• Place quotation marks around phrases or titles:

"queer theory"

"Gendering Mental Distress in Celebrity Culture"

• Search for alternate terms using OR, with the terms enclosed in parentheses:

(film OR movie)

You can also use the advanced Google Scholar search to create your search string. Creating a complex Google Scholar search can be difficult.

A good Google Scholar strategy is to try multiple searches, adjusting your keywords with each search.

Cited By feature in Google Scholar

Use the Cited by link to find articles and books that cite a specific article.

The cited by feature is a great way to find more recent articles and to trace an idea from its original source up to the present.

1. Start by locating a single item in Google Scholar.
2. Look for the Cited by link at the bottom of the result. It will list the number of times the item has been cited by others.
   
   

Advanced search options

For more complex searches, try Google Scholar's Advanced Search page.

1. To access the advanced search option, click on the three line icon in the upper left corner of the Google Scholar search page.
2. Click on Advanced search.
   
   
   
    
3. From the Advanced search pop-up box, choose the search option(s) you need.
   
   

Follow these steps to manually link Google Scholar to the JWU Library collection:

1. Go to Google Scholar. 
2. In the upper left side of your screen, click on the three lines.
   
   
    
3. Click the Settings link or gear icon. Depending on your screen size, this may be at the top or the bottom of that section
   
   
        
   
    
4. In the left column, click on Library Links. 
   
   
    
5. In the search box, type in JWU and click the blue Search button.
6. An option for JWU - Find at JWU will appear below the search box. Click in the box next to it.
   
   Note: If you see a box for Open WorldCat - Library Search box , check that too. This will allow it to link to any freely available content.
   
   
    
7. Click Save. This setting will be remembered until you clear your browser cookies. 
   
   Tip:  You might be taken back to the setting page. Click Save again to go back to the Google Scholar search box. 

Now when you search Google Scholar, you will see Find at JWU links to the right of articles it thinks we have in the Library.

Tips: 

When you click on Find @ JWU you will be asked to log in with your JWU username and password.

You may see a list of databases that contain the article. Pay attention to the years, as not all databases will have the same coverage years.  Click on the database you want to try and it should take you to the article.

Adapted from: Walden University Library, "Search Google Scholar." Walden University Library. Walden University. 2022, Web. 11.14.2022

The JWU library has two style guides: 

MLA Style Guide

APA Style Guide

However, if you need more in depth guidance on formatting go to the Purdue OWL. 

Need to talk to someone and seek guidance in real time?

• If you are an online student, you can go to the online writing center for information about how to contact a writing coach. 
• If you are a PVD campus student you can schedule an appointment with the writing coach through uSucceed.