Library & Research
Greetings! I'm honored to be your personal librarian for Race, Politics and Power in America.
I can help you pick a topic, find articles, or answer any other question. Seriously. I got you!
I share office hours with an awesome team of librarians, so if you'd like some one-on-one help click here to book an appointment or let me know a time that works for you. We're here for you!
Sarah Naomi Campbell| scampbell@jwu.edu | 401-598-5019
Did you know you can also chat or text with a librarian? It's anonymous, free, and super fast!
On campus? Visit the JWU Writing Lab at either Downcity or Harborside for fast and easy help with assignments. Whether you're just getting started or need final editing advice, the student writing coaches are super kind and trained to help you at any stage of the writing process.
Top Four Tips for Working with the Writing Lab:
- Open Mon - Thurs 4-10 pm, Sun 12-10 pm.
- Walk-ins welcome; appointments strongly recommended.
- Book an appointment: http://pvd.library.jwu.edu/writinglab
- Email: jwuwritinglab@jwu.edu
Curious about how it all works? Check out this sweet video created by an awesome team of JWU students!
Did you know you can also submit your paper 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to Smarthinking for seriously awesome feedback within 24 -48 hours? It's FREE! Look for the link in JWULink, under the Academics tab, under Tutoring.
For in-person tutoring, help with accommodations for students living with disabilities, and study-skills workshops, contact the Center for Academic Support.
Wondering how to get started on your Tool Kit for Action Class project? No worries! Your first challenge is to choose an interesting topic, and then focus in on the most fascinating angle. Researching multiple perspectives creates the strongest argument.
Example: If you were to choose the impact of race or gender on access to labor unions as the topic, you might research the ways in which the intersection of race and gender prevented workers from joining labor unions as the angle. In this article from Academic Search Complete, An opportunity to Challenge the "Color Line": Gender, Race, Ethnicity, and Women's Labor Activism in Late Nineteenth-Century Cedar Rapids, Iowa the author traces the history of African American women who were blocked from joining labor unions but fought for justice.
Pro-Tip: Start with Academic Search Complete by simply clicking the Articles tab on the library's home page.
Use Academic Search Complete to search for articles on specific angles for your research paper. For example, if you're focusing on "intersection of race and gender on labor unions" use the search box to find scholarly articles on "race" or "ethnicity", and "gender" along with your angle, such as "labor unions".
- Enter in your basic search terms, such as "race" OR "gender" AND "labor union"
- Limit to Full Text, so you can read articles online
- Check Scholarly/Peer Reviewed
- Scroll down the first page of articles, and click on the most interesting one
- Scholarly articles often include Statistics - look for a range of statistics in the beginning of the article, as well as in the conclusion.
- Click on one of the Subject Terms (they're hyperlinked) and see where it takes you!
Need research on controversial topics? This database is your friend. Support your point of view on a controversial issue with facts and statistics from primary and government documents, photos, and magazine & newspaper articles which have already argued your case.
Pro-Tip: Choose Browse Issues to choose from legit hundreds of topics.
Looking for statistics to quote, FAST? Check out this awesome database! Just toss in your search term, and you're good to go.
Here are just a sample of the many resources available to you in the JWU library. Reach out for individual or group help with your projects!
Articles:
Race/Ethnicity Differences between Alcohol, Marijuana, and Co-occurring Alcohol and Marijuana Use Disorders and Their Association with Public Health and Social Problems Using a National Sample.
Why Bother with Beliefs? Examining Relationships between Race/Ethnicity, Parental Beliefs about Causes of Child Problems, and Mental Health Service Use
Addendum by Race/Ethnicity: National Freshman Attitudes Report, 2011. National Research Study
Journals:
Columbia Journal of Race and Law
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- Full-text peer-reviewed journal articles from 1999-TO THE CURRENT YEAR
- Content covers fields such as Administration & Leadership, Business/Management, Clothing & Textiles, Criminal Justice, Cultures, Education, Entrepreneurship, Food Science, Hospitality, Information Science, Literature, Marketing, Sports, Travel & Tourism
- Films on Demand Complete (Infobase) This link opens in a new window
- Acclaimed documentaries, award-winning education films, and helpful instructional videos
- Create and share custom playlists
- Google Translate in 53 languages
- Closed-captioning and interactive transcripts
- Kanopy Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
- Access to thousands of classic, educational, indie and documentary films
- Click on the LOG IN TO JWU link until you arrive at the Kanopy homepage or the Create Your Account screen. If you do not wish to create an account, select “SKIP” at the bottom of the page. You will be able to watch films without creating an account.
- To view films in the Media Education Foundation (MEF) Collection, search "MEF" in the search box at the top of the homepage, then select MEF Collection from the results list
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- U.S. and international regulatory and statutory law publications, primary historical documents, and writings on jurisprudence
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- A great place to start for most topics
- Mostly full-text articles from scholarly peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, popular magazines, and newspapers
- If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Many full text articles focused on the criminal justice system including mass incarceration, decriminalization, criminal justice reform, criminal law & procedure, corrections & prisons, police & policing, criminal investigation, forensic sciences & investigation, history of crime, substance abuse & addiction, probation & parole
- Check the "Linked Full Text" button to retrieve only full-text content
If full-text is not available, click link to Check for Full Text (Providence) to connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request form
Did you know you can copy and paste citations if you use the library's databases?
1. Save time - look for the "Cite" Button or " " icon.
2. Scroll to the style you need (APA)
3. Copy and paste the full citation into your paper
Ta Da! You're done! Well, almost. Sometimes weird formatting issues happen, so always double check your work.
Need help with in-text citations or more complicated citations? Use the OWL! It's super easy, and totally simple. This is also a really good time to make an appointment with a writing tutor to make sure your paper is totally perfect and all your citations are good to go or reach out to me for help!
